OTA rolling out!

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by rdgxray, Dec 9, 2011.

  1. wilboy

    wilboy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    If you've been in stock kernel you can flash 5.5.893-6.893-7.893 and the latest one that is 8.894.Now if you have had that kernel(on that picture),you have no chance to go back to stock kernel,so 'US'(w/ that kernel)are having no success in installing the 5.893 OTA because of the lock bootloader.
     
  2. markwebb

    markwebb Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    829
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    CT
    Ratings:
    +27
    Well, it appears that way based on the OP:

    This is [K]IN3TX, It is a Lean, Mean, and made to be the best of both worlds... This is a BASE ROM that has a perfect blend of choice, fuctionality, Blur, and features. There are also ADD-ON PAX to transform it into a FULL BLUR Build or a AOSP BLUR(LESS) Build AKA SHIFT3R and PURITY.READ everything and it will all make sense.

    You will like it!
     
  3. jzmax22

    jzmax22 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So i received the update and reverted back to stock because i had messed up my swype. So now im on .885 but i have the .893 kernel. Are you telling my i can not get the update again because i have the newer kernel?
     
  4. wilboy

    wilboy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    If you have this kernel(like this-my attachment) you can still received the Pushed OTA update but you will fail to install.
    View attachment 43508
     
  5. jzmax22

    jzmax22 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So am i screwed then? never able to update?
     
  6. wilboy

    wilboy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    SOL!Both of us...and a lot more!..let's wait for the coming update...:frown:
     
  7. Bionic

    Bionic Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    FWIW - I just flashed the OTA dump that Terri M posted, and it worked like a charm. Was forever rooted and retained root. Interestingly, was always 3G at my house, and now have 4G signal (albeit very weak). Nice surprise.

    Thanks Terri!

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  8. k1ngr4t

    k1ngr4t Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,486
    Likes Received:
    112
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +114
    Current Phone Model:
    Z Force
    Out of curiosity, how did you mess up your swype??
     
  9. Captain Crypto

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +3
    Well, I got impatient (which is certainly not unbelievable in my case) and loaded Terri M's OTA from earlier in this thread. First, some background: I have a 4G tower less than a mile away from my house, but I live in a bowl (of course) so the signal sails right over my house. I once calculated I would need an antenna extender about 25 - 30 feet above my roof line to pick up the signal full-force. I rarely get a sniff of 4G when I'm upstairs, and my 3G is barely there. I use a Verizon network extender, which works great. Downstairs I get maybe 1 or 2 bars of 3G, but it winks out frequently.

    So, I've had 5.5.893 loaded for about 30 minutes now. I have my NE off, and I turned off WiFi on the phone. I'm sitting downstairs where if I did not have the NE on I would get maybe 1 bar of 3G signal. Right now the phone is switching between 4G (with 2 bars) and 3G (with 3 bars), signal strength hovering around -95 dBm, and no dropped signal at all except once when I ended a phone call. 3G took about 10 seconds to come back on. Since then, I've had steady data. I almost never got this kind of signal strength before, so the update helped there.

    I never had audio whine so that's not a worry. I'll test the apps to (internal) SD later to see if I lose my apps. Other than data drops and a few apps disappearing I didn't have much of a problem with my phone before the update. After the update I have a noticeable improvement in data reception which really was my biggest concern. Otherwise the Bionic has been excellent for me. It's not exactly the equivalent of excitement as my OG Droid when that was first new, but I have no complaints now that (hopefully) the data signal problem is fixed. We shall see.

    [EDIT] I have the extended battery, which has lasted me anywhere from 15 to 20 hours depending on usage. I can't wait to see how long it may last now...
     
    #129 Captain Crypto, Dec 12, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2011
  10. Terri M

    Terri M Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +0
    You're welcome! :)
     
  11. GoBigOrGoHome70

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Maple Grove, MN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, I can now confirm that the OTA update will fail if you have stock but have frozen applications. No other damage caused.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums