OTA Patch #1

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by ChevyNo1, Jun 3, 2011.

  1. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    Just went out - this will fix links2sd, apps2sd, and who knows how many other apps ... if you have had weird issues - this may well clear it up - this should also fix VPN apps. You should get prompted the next time you open tools. If not - exit tools (via the BACK button, not HOME). Open tools again. If you still don't, here it is, install in recovery just like you would a ROM:

    Thanks to MANATARMS for helping me troubleshoot this via his use of VPNC!!

    http://chevyno1.richstevenson.com/gingerbread/5.4/patches/SS5.4-Patch-1.zip
     
    #1 ChevyNo1, Jun 3, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2011
  2. metalspring

    metalspring Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    Ratings:
    +24
    Btw Chevy, would unchecking the look for updates help the tools to run faster or will it still try to connect to your site to update the news?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  3. Mbk

    Mbk Android For Life
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,167
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +4
    what files does this patch encompass?... I'm having a continuous blank page trying to download from that upload site
     
  4. rck76

    rck76 Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +38
    http://db.tt/CsWLnv1

    Dropbox link

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  5. metalspring

    metalspring Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    Ratings:
    +24
    It actually only deletes a file lol

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  6. rck76

    rck76 Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +38
    Wow, lol

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  7. DavMar

    DavMar Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NE PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Patch #1 worked perfectly using cwm, thanks Chevy!
     
  8. rafiki1

    rafiki1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you did the fix manually do you have to update still?
     
  9. Jasko

    Jasko Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    South Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Didn't notice anything wrong before, but just installed. Thanks.
     
  10. metalspring

    metalspring Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    Ratings:
    +24
    This is exactly what the update does

    mount("MTD", "system", "/system");set_progress(1.000000);

    ui_print("");
    ui_print("Simply Stunning Patch #1");
    ui_print("");
    show_progress(0.500000, 40);
    ui_print("Installing Update ...");
    delete("/system/bin/mkdir");

    ui_print("Install Done!!");

    set_progress(10.000000);
    unmount("/system");

    Other than mounting/unmounting system and the coding to show the words and progress animation all it has is a command to delete /system/bin/mkdir simple lol, although I'm not exactly sure what the binary stuff does in the other file...but I'm pretty sure the main part is the script above

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums

    Btw if you're viewing that from the phone app, disable Smileys or it'll look all weird lol
     
  11. Larry_ThaGr81

    Larry_ThaGr81 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Hesperia
    Ratings:
    +0
    awesome and thx
     
  12. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    The first time you open tools (say after a reboot) it ALWAYS looks for news/patches. After that, unless tools is completely killed (or you use BACK button to exit out) it will not look for news/updates again. That is, UNLESS you check the 'updates box' - then it checks EVERY time you enter tools.

    Remember a change from a few versions ago - typically android leaves apps in memory, regardless of whether you hit the home key or back key. My app will remove itself from memory if you hit the back key - which means it will check for updates again the next time you load it up.
     
Search tags for this page

ss5 ota download