OTA keyboard question

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by msullivan, Dec 10, 2009.

  1. msullivan

    msullivan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Before the OTA I swear I can recall my slider keyboard having a backlight? was I dreaming, because after the OTA its not there anymore.

    Was it ever there? Flame away...
     
  2. Martin030908

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    The slider keyboard keys do 'light up' when you use it. Always have, for me anyway. It's the letter itself that lights.... They would have to... how else could you type on the keyboard in a dark setting?

    no flames... i'm not throwing matches :)
     
  3. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    After I updated, my backlight for the keyboard didn't work. I had to restart and do a battery pull a few times before they came back. I have seen others say the same thing.
     
  4. andrewdoane

    andrewdoane Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's a bizarre problem. Even more bizarre that it takes multiple battery pulls to correct the problem. Is this happening to 100% of the people who update, or just a small group? Either way, thanks for letting us know in case it happens to many more of us in the next few days.

    Maybe if we're lucky the Motorola/Google/Verizon/whoever people are using these few days after the initial 20,000 updates to make updates to their update so that when the rest of us get it, it's even better than when you got it.
     
  5. DurangoJim

    DurangoJim Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I haven't had that problem since the update, but could it be that the light sensor is more sensitive now so it keeps the back light off unless it is darker?
     
  6. jkayner

    jkayner Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just tried mine and at first it was not backlit, but when i put the phone under my desk in the dark, the backlight came one.
     
  7. darkgreen

    darkgreen Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Updated last night. Keyboard light worked immediately and continuously since. No problem for me.
     
  8. Martin030908

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    small group... most of us haven't had this issue.
     
  9. swich2mac

    swich2mac New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Soft menu keys don't light up either. All who claim it is working fine, power cycle your phone. More details below from another thread I created.

    Can anyone else who has updated to 2.0.1 confirm this:

    Power off your phone and then power it back on. Once powered on, if you touch any of the soft butons (Menu, back, home, search) do they light up? Also check to see if your keyboard lights up when you open it.

    Mine do not have any backlighting on them after a power cycle. Only way to get them to wok properly is to press the brightness icon on the power widget. Then they come back and work properly until next time I power cycle.

    Can anyone else confirm this behavior?
     
  10. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine definitely did not work right after updating. I went in to a pitch black room and nothing would light up. Did a restart and it still didn't work. I then did a battery pull and after that, everything would light up again. Haven't had any trouble with it since then.
     
  11. msullivan

    msullivan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So i'm not crazy. Thanks.
     
  12. chriskent85

    chriskent85 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Lake City, FL.
    Ratings:
    +0
    how is everyone doing an OTA update if it isnt out yet, mine keeps saying that my software is up to date
     
  13. Martin030908

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
  14. msullivan

    msullivan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    mine came over the air last night
     
  15. cereal killer

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,173
    Likes Received:
    915
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +933
    Current Phone Model:
    Nokia Lumia Icon
    The update is out. It's being pushed to select devices right now.

    The OTA's started going out a few days ago actually.