OTA from Verizon

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy S4' started by fishacura, Jul 10, 2013.

  1. fishacura
    Offline

    fishacura New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just got the OTA update on my Rooted VZ S4. Will let you know how it goes!
  2. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,788
    Likes Received:
    575
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    I can tell you you're going to lose root if you install it
  3. fishacura
    Offline

    fishacura New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmmm really? Guess I'll have to re-root after the fact. I wonder if I can still use the old method.
  4. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,788
    Likes Received:
    575
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    OTA updates will cause you to lose root. I hope you had OTA rootkeeper...

    The old method of rooting may or may not work, the update may have changed some things and the old method may not work, but I'm sure it'll get worked around in a matter of days.
  5. reybie
    Offline

    reybie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I read from yesterday's flurry of posts that even Rootkeeper wasn't able to keep root after the update.
  6. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,788
    Likes Received:
    575
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Wouldn't surprise me if Rootkeeper didn't work. I have it, but I'm not going to be the first one to try it:D

    Galaxy S4 update for Verizon and AT&T breaks root
  7. wicked
    Offline

    wicked DF Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,041
    Likes Received:
    360
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    For those who are on stock rooted and want to get rid of the update notification, all you have to do is freeze SDM 1.0 with Titanium Backup. :happy:
  8. fishacura
    Offline

    fishacura New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not only did I lose root, the update ran and ran and after my phone rebooted it said it was unsuccessful even though it ran through to completion. Not sure how and now not sure how to re-run it. UGH!
  9. hondabomdc5
    Offline

    hondabomdc5 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    Just got the update....downloaded and installed just fine. Things I have noticed.....phone feels a little faster....opening apps like camera, phone, texts all seem faster. Also, the shutter speed in the stock camera app has gotten a little faster. The only other thing in the camera app that I noticed was the icon in the top left corner to switch between rear and front cameras is a slightly different icon. Other than those things I mentioned , everything else seems the same
  10. gadgetrants
    Offline

    gadgetrants Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    116
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Remember that ROM updates typically wipe both the app cache and the Dalvik cache, which will make any phone faster for a few days. :)

    custom rom - Why Do I Need to Wipe Dalvik Cache? - Android Enthusiasts Stack Exchange

    -Matt
  11. fishacura
    Offline

    fishacura New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anyone re-root since the OTA?
  12. markwebb
    Offline

    markwebb New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    It is not possible: update broke root and locked bootloader tight. There is no solution.
    If you have a Developer edition phone, the update does not touch the bootloader and one can install a custom recovery via Odin and then install a pre rooted rom.
    AGAIN: NO SOLUTION OTHERWISE.
  13. fishacura
    Offline

    fishacura New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Meaning the "Existing Method" that's in the s4 development forum with the video will not work. That DOES NOT mean someone won't figure something out right?Also, why does this happen after the fact? I mean the phone is only a few months old. Why lock down things a different way all over again? Do they realize people figured out how to break in and want to play spoiler?BTW, mine is BRICKED :(
  14. markwebb
    Offline

    markwebb New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    Correct, and I strongly suggest everyone subscribe to XDA FORUMS where most of the best information is shared. As of now, no solution.
  15. cybertec69
    Offline

    cybertec69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    How did you BRICK it, did you flash a recovery image using ODIN, if you did, just go back into ODIN mode and re flash the original image, it should be on your PC.
  16. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,788
    Likes Received:
    575
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    They lock it down because it is in their best interest. They can have their phone with their UI being ran the way they want it. Now that there are Google Editions of top tier phones (s4 and One for now), there is even more reason for manufacturers to lock down their devices. If users want the freedom of Android with no restrictions, they've set up the users to buy these Google Edition phones at retail. Sort of "you gotta pay to play" going on. By locking down their devices you're essentially being forced to use their software on their terms. Not a direction I really like, but it was heading in that direction anyway and with Google Edition phones they have even more incentive to lock down their stock devices.
  17. fishacura
    Offline

    fishacura New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's exactly how it bricked. OTA was unsuccessful but I lost root. I figured I'd just go into ODIN and flash stock. I did that, but it failed in like 10 seconds. Phone said "do not unplug"but ODIN stopped running and nothing on the phone was moving so I HAD to eventually unplug it. When I did and started it back up, I get the firmware error message. I tried flashing again in ODIN (I can actually turn phone on in download mode) but again ODIN flash fails after about 5 seconds. Doing PDA and loading the stock image TAR file. UGH!
  18. cybertec69
    Offline

    cybertec69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    You should have known and I am sure the mod community would have let you know, that you should never try to load a stock software update from the manufacturer if you are rooted, you have a good chance of bricking the device.

    Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk 2
  19. fishacura
    Offline

    fishacura New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    1. "You should have known" is a bit judgmental don't you think?

    2. This had nothing to do with bricking the device nor have I ever heard of that happening with a stock update. Losing root...yes. Bricking phone, not at all. And that's not what bricked my phone per my original email.
  20. bluezdawg
    Offline

    bluezdawg New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boulder, Colorado
    Running stock, did ota, no problems. Was able to move apps to SD card. Have not figured out the trasparent notification bar thing. Stll looking for change log
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S4 using Tapatalk
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2013
Search tags for this page
camera update verizon root
,
new s4 ota verizon
,
ota program samsung s4 page plus
,
root after verizon ota s4 update
,
s4 new ota verizon
,
s4 update verizon unsuccessful
,
s4 verizon ota
,
verizon galaxy s4 ota after root
,

verizon galaxy s4 root keeper

,
verizon s4 ota
,
verizon s4 ota update keep root
,
verizon samsung s4 ota