Ota failed

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by cdm369, Sep 1, 2011.

  1. cdm369

    cdm369 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Last night my ota for gingerbread became available but after the install process it says update failed on both attempts. I am rooted but no other mods so far. Anyone know why this is happening
    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
  2. Byakushiki

    Byakushiki Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    859
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Usea
    Ratings:
    +3
    Clear your cache first, then try again if you haven't bootstrapped.
     
  3. cdm369

    cdm369 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    How?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
  4. americanz

    americanz Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    you need to unroot
     
  5. Byakushiki

    Byakushiki Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    859
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Usea
    Ratings:
    +3
    No, ota should automatically remove root. I managed to flash the unrooted leak while rooted, just had to clear cache after removing bootstrap.
     
  6. cdm369

    cdm369 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    What if bootstrapped

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
  7. czervick212

    czervick212 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I'm having this issue aswell. I was root, unrooted for the update(unnecessary I know). I'm not bootstrapped and never romed or anything. what the hells going on?
     
  8. silver6054

    silver6054 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Did you ever remove/rename bloat, with a script,with TB, renaming via a root explorer etc?

    While there are obvious exceptions (e.g. using root to install Titanium Backup but not actually doing anything with it), if you ever did something that needed root, there is a chance that you changed something in the system, that will prevent OTA working.
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2011
  9. Byakushiki

    Byakushiki Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    859
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Usea
    Ratings:
    +3
    If you're bootstrapped, just sbf but instead of wiping data, just wipe cache. As for the update failing, wipe your cache. Factory data reset might be necessary, but I doubt that.
     
  10. cdm369

    cdm369 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did run bootstrap and did remove skype think that was it...

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
  11. Byakushiki

    Byakushiki Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    859
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Usea
    Ratings:
    +3
    Guys, repush is in about half an hour. Get your phones cleaned up now if you haven't already.
     
  12. cdm369

    cdm369 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Removed bootstrap...I think...cleared cash and still will not accept update....runs about one third through install and reboots....then says update failed...what now
    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
  13. Gasai Yuno

    Gasai Yuno Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rausu-cho
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not sure how exactly you managed to do it.

    z4root replaces /system/bin/logwrapper and the OTA checks that file's SHA checksum.
     
  14. americanz

    americanz Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes can we get instructions on how to remove boot strap please
     
  15. cdm369

    cdm369 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    What will a factory data reset do. Wonder if that will eliminate the problem

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page

droid bionic jelly bean logwrapper

,

droid x2 ota 2.3.5 failed

,

ota 1.27.531.8 fails to install