OTA block question

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by greg4501, Aug 11, 2010.

  1. greg4501

    greg4501 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got the froyo OTA update today..i'm on BB 0.4...can i just hit install and will it block the update? Definitely wanted to ask before trying.
     
  2. h_10

    h_10 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i believe if you hit install you will install the OTA froyo update and lose root.
     
  3. ChugIt

    ChugIt Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN.
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. greg4501

    greg4501 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well do i have to flash to Sprecovery? Or will it go through in Clockwork?
     
  5. ChugIt

    ChugIt Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Theoretically Clockwork will block it. I didn't want to take any chances so I used ROM Manager to flash to SPRecovery, let it block it then flashed back to Clockwork upon reboot. I THINK Clockwork will, but I can not confirm that. I can confirm SPRecovery will with 100% certainty, however.

    EDIT: Confirmed. Clockwork Recovery WILL indeed block it as well.
     
    #5 ChugIt, Aug 11, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2010