OTA 2.2 Update and Wireless Hotspot

Discussion in 'Android Applications Discussions' started by VingInMedina, Aug 15, 2010.

  1. VingInMedina

    VingInMedina Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Medina, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +1
    I finally received the OTA 2.2 update yesterday. Been waiting a LONG time, but it is finally here.

    However, I don't seem the be able to find the ability to make the phone a wireless hotspot. I did find the USB thering.

    So, before I spend a lot of time trying to find something that isn't there, can anyone tell me if this feature was removed from the OTA version of FroYo or is it expected in perhaps some later update? Is this still one of those things that I will have to root the phone in order to take advantage of?

    Thanks for the help!
     
  2. kendaddy

    kendaddy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Read last week that the HotSpot is only for Droid X, seems there is a hardware piece we don't have int he regular Droid.
     
  3. famac!

    famac! Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Rooted folks have the Hotspot feature. There is no hardware piece missing. Verizon would just like you to upgrade your device.
     
  4. kendaddy

    kendaddy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't believe Verizon would do some thing like that! (Note heavy sarcasm!)
     
  5. RW-1

    RW-1 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,249
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Let's Clarify:

    Rooted users have wifi tether capability. Not true hotspot, it is infrastructure connection only, and I'm not sure how many devices at one time.

    That capability is what they are saying our chipset doesn't have.

    For most, this won't be an issue, root and add wi fi tethering.
     
  6. beckeann

    beckeann Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Haughton. Louisiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid turbo
    I got mine today and my ringtones disappeared on my contacts. Wtf. Not crazy about the toggle bar on home screen.
     
  7. marcuslee06

    marcuslee06 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have had up to 3 devices tethering off of my D1 at one time. Ran perfectly.
     
  8. RedBaronCFI

    RedBaronCFI New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I apologize in advance for asking what I'm sure is a REALLY dumb sounding question, but.... (we're all newbies a some point),

    What does "root" mean? How do I "root"?

    I have the DroidX runnimg on 2.1, and the 3G hotspot works great for 3 minutes, then nada. The Dell 9400 says it's still connected to the DroidX hotspot at 54Mbps, the diagnostics all say that everything is fine, and the DroidX displays the Dell 9400 as connected to the hotspot. But there is absolutely no internet connectivity any longer. The "up and down" arrows under the 3G on the DroidX are gray, with no activity. If this can't be corrected, I'm headed back to using the Storm.

    Help!

    Thanks.
     
  9. MsterKush

    MsterKush Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Cakewalk Island
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's because you're on a Droid X and we're all on the original Droid (D1). Silly.dancedroid