Original Shadow ROM Kernal

Discussion in 'ShadowROM' started by ridavid81, Oct 4, 2010.

  1. ridavid81

    ridavid81 New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,

    I've been flashing different kernals for 0.2.1 and battery life has been pretty poor. On average I'm going from 100% to 50% in 4 hours. I've been running 1ghz on Performance mode on all the kernals.

    I would like to have the standard kernal that came with Shadow ROM. Anyway of getting it without having to Flash the entire ROM and Gapps again?

    thanks
     
  2. billygalbreath

    Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thats what nandroids were made for ;)
     
  3. mbsmd

    mbsmd New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's the performance mode that's killing your battery.
     
  4. billygalbreath

    Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    False. Performance mode saves battery
     
  5. JigsawPiece34

    JigsawPiece34 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Um...I thought Performance used the highest clock speed the profile specifies? If that's true, then that would explain the battery issues.
     
  6. droidman101

    droidman101 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    well thats questionable,
    performance=heat
    heat=sucky performance
    sucky performance=sucky battery life
    so it comes about even, but it all depends on your phone and how it handles the kernel really
     
  7. DanDroidX

    DanDroidX Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Mexico, The Land of Entrapment
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have had decent luck with the interactive mode. I am willing to sacrifice a bit of battery life for the performance I get from it.
     
  8. billygalbreath

    Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just because your car has over 300 horsepower, doesnt mean you use it all the time...

    Using an interactive, or ondemand governor will adjust the "horse power" of your droid, not the current cpu load...

    idle @ 550 mHz is the same heat/cpu cycles/load/time as idle @ 1250 mHz

    Just like a 95 horsepower car at idle is going the same speed as a 300 horsepower car is at idle...

    Interactively (or ondemand'ly) adjust that 95 hp car to 300 horsepower and rev the gas 100%... think about all those actions that just took place to get up to speed.. Now image just rev'ing the gas to 100% on the stock 300 hp car... Which required more effort (or cpu cycles)?

    Make sense yet?

    Since Performance mode _never_ adjusts the "horse power" of the CPU, its in fact using LESS power than the interactive or ondemand governors.

    Constantly switching the "horse power" of the CPU in fact needs to USE cpu cycles to perform the actions, thus using MORE power.

    I don't know if these analogies are making any sense or not... But Performance boasts the best speeds at ALL times, plus uses LESS power consumption than any other governor.
     
  9. DanDroidX

    DanDroidX Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Mexico, The Land of Entrapment
    Ratings:
    +1
    So... it uses more battery in interactive bc it has to upscale and downscale all the time...???
     
  10. DanDroidX

    DanDroidX Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Mexico, The Land of Entrapment
    Ratings:
    +1
    That is confusing...
     
  11. INSANENEIVIESIS

    INSANENEIVIESIS Active Member
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    flick a light on and off every second. and keep one on. which one dies first the one you flick on and off. its start stop start stop or consistency.
     
  12. billygalbreath

    Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Exactly. :D