1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Original Kernel Restore

Discussion in 'Cyanogenmod' started by AirForceAngler, May 6, 2011.

  1. AirForceAngler
    Offline

    AirForceAngler New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, I'm a noob at this in some cases but am learning. Yesterday I flashed a deprimed kernel under CM7 using kernel manager lite on my OG Droid. After doing this I wondered what I would have to do if I needed to restore my original kernel. Like a noob, I didn't make a nandroid backup before doing this. Is this the step I should have taken if I wanted to restore my stock kernel? Or what do I do in that case? Thanks again for the help!
  2. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Look to see if the stock kernel is available. You should be able to flash it the same way you did the new one (after you backup of course). If you aren't experiencing any problems now with the new kernel just make a backup of what you have. Then you can flash whatever you want and still have the backup to fall back on if something gets screwed up or you start into a bootloop. Hope that answers your question. Good luck!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  3. AirForceAngler
    Offline

    AirForceAngler New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That helps quite a bit. Would that be a nandroid backup I should create now then? It's working fine so far. Also, where would I look for the stock kernel if I needed to? My wife has a stock OG Droid, could I get it from there somehow? Many thanks again!
  4. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    A little story on the backup deal. I formatted my SD card to get rid of the crap on it. Shortly after the ROM I was using had an update. Since I had already backedup I wiped everything and installed the update. Well guess what, the update was just that, not the full rom so my phone bootlooped with no OS on it. I went to access my backups and they were gone because I had formatted my card. I went to the rom section on droidforums and downloaded the rom, flashed it and it worked with zero problems. Having a backup saves you a few steps, but not having one isn't the end of the world. At least for the OG Droid anyways.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  5. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    If you know enough about programming you could pull the kernal out and install it on your phone. However a search for the "stock Droid kernal" would be easier. Keep in mind if you are using a non stock rom they may be built with a specific type of kernal in mind. What type of recovery are you using? Clockwork (ROM manager), RZR? You can create a backup in either and it will be fine.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  6. AirForceAngler
    Offline

    AirForceAngler New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, cool. Did you do that flash using RSDLite? As you can see, I'm stumbling around a little bit here on some of this, but learning as I go! I have a few total backups of my SD card on my computer (need to make a new one soon, too). So far I've been using ROM manager to flash my ROMs but don't think that will work if the phone won't boot up for some reason. I did use RSDLite to root my phone so I have a small amount of experience using that.
  7. CJM
    Online

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,244
    Likes Received:
    505
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    IMHO, throw rom mangler out the window. Boot into recovery and flash everything through that. The best way to get a rom installed is to download them to a pc then transfer them to your sd. Or download them from the web with your phone. If you go that route, wifi is better. But using a pc is more reliable. Then boot into recovery and flash.

    You say the phone wont boot up. Can you get to recovery by holding power + X?
  8. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    No I only used rsd to root. When you flash a new rom/kernal/theme you just save it to your SD card. Connect your phone via USB then pull down the notifications and tap on "connect to your computer to transfer files". Your phone will show up on your computer as a removable storage device. Download your files to there on the root of your SD card (not into any folders). Disconnect from the computer. Go into rom manager and select install rom from SD card. It doesn't matter if its a rom or theme or whatever, its just how rom manager knows where to look for the file. Once you find the file you want tap on it. Rom manager will ask if you want to wipe data and cache. If you are installing a new rom, always do this. If you are doing a new kernal, theme, or update and it doesn't say to wipe then you don't have to. After the data/cache wipe your file will install.

    If that isn't clear let me know which part I messed you up on. I'd be more than happy to explain

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  9. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    CJ he isn't having problems. He just has a few questions. I was going to discuss other recovery options for him later.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
    Last edited: May 6, 2011
  10. CJM
    Online

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,244
    Likes Received:
    505
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ok. Thats why I asked.
  11. AirForceAngler
    Offline

    AirForceAngler New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's pretty clear, thanks. I've been using Clockwork recovery in ROM manager for now as it's seems to be pretty easy and fool proof. I'm also guessing that if I update my CM7 to the most current, it will over write my current kernel and I'll have to reinstall that, also.
  12. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    The kernsl should be included with the updates so you shouldn't have to reinstall it unless there is a specific one you prefer to use.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  13. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Now that I say that I can't be totally positive. I don't use CM. Just keep doing what you've been doing since you've not had any problems as of yet.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  14. AirForceAngler
    Offline

    AirForceAngler New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    From what I've read on the difference between ROMs and Kernels, you can install a kernel without installing a ROM, but not the other way around. I could be wrong. Thanks again for your help!
  15. CJM
    Online

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,244
    Likes Received:
    505
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    You're both correct. Each rom uses their own kernels and you can change back and forth without having to change roms or wiping in between.

    Swyped from a Droid
  16. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Thanks CJ!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  17. AirForceAngler
    Offline

    AirForceAngler New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    +1 Thanks!
  18. CJM
    Online

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,244
    Likes Received:
    505
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Anytime. If you dont have an app to control the cpu, like SetCPU, I suggest you look into it. Running overclocked kernels can cause the cpu and battery to over heat. Which can shorten the life of the battery and phone. Apps like SetCPU can step in to control the cpu and cool things down automatically. SetCPU also allows you to set up "profiles" that help save the battery.

    Also, frequencies that are too high or voltages that are too low can cause bootloops. If that happens, go down in frequency or up in voltage. And its a good idea, if your trying new kernels, to load a few to the sd. That way if you do bootloop, just go to recovery and flash a different kernel. That just saves time as opposed to flashing a backup.
  19. AirForceAngler
    Offline

    AirForceAngler New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    CM7 includes overclocking options, but you're saying I should also use setCPU? Not a big deal as I've already purchased it, but wasn't aware I'd have to run it in CM7.
  20. CJM
    Online

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,244
    Likes Received:
    505
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Not for the OC options, but for the profiles. Just to protect the cpu and battery from overheating. You can also set it to underclock when the screen is off or the battery gets low to help save battery life.

    Sent by the Unbrickable DROID
Search tags for this page
android reset kernel
,
how to backup and restore kernel
,
how to recover kernel android
,
how to repair kernel android
,
how to reset android kernel
,
how to reset kernel
,

how to reset kernel android

,
how to restore kernel
,

how to restore kernel android

,
kernel restore
,
reset kernel android
,
resetar kernel android
,
restore kernel
,

restore kernel android

,

restore original kernel android