1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Original Droid Slowness

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by GadgetRick, Mar 20, 2011.

  1. GadgetRick
    Offline

    GadgetRick New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, have had the original Droid since it first came out. Love it. Unfortunately, every so often, it just bogs down when doing very basic things. I don't have a ton of apps installed or anything and it's very intermittent.

    Anyone seen this and got any ideas on how to fix it?

    Also, a while back, when they updated the gallery app, it started taking FOREVER to open a photo just taken with the camera app in the Gallery app. Never learned why they did this or if there was a fix. It's quite annoying. Anyone know about that?

    Thanks.
  2. TheSkump
    Offline

    TheSkump New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've also been having problems with my Droid 1 slowing down over time. I've found that a root+overclock helps a bunch. Widgets are also a Droid 1 users worst enemy, as the phone's specs are plenty for light multitasking and single-app focus, but it just doesn't have the RAM or CPU speed to manage all the background work of widgets, particularly those flashy animated widgets.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  3. brubakes
    Offline

    brubakes New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Medina, OH
    Same here. The more time passes the worse it seems to get. I'll wait 30+ seconds sometimes for just the home screen to load.
  4. kookk
    Offline

    kookk New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Flash project elite. My Droid used to be slow as all get out.

    It runs super smooth, I never wait for widgets and hardly ever have fcs.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  5. Zombie_Jesus
    Offline

    Zombie_Jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Just use a custom rom and then use a low voltage kernal. O/C it and problems solved. I use Bugless Beast 6.2.1 w/chevy lv 1.25 kernal. I run at 550 to 1.25 mhz w no problems at all. Original droid. Proof sucka!
    [​IMG]

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  6. 707BellyDancer
    Offline

    707BellyDancer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Humboldt County
    Ok I'm having the same problem and it sucks. Could some one lead me to the best place to get the items listed in the above message. (Bugless Beast 6.2.1 w/chevy lv 1.25 kernal. I run at 550 to 1.25 mhz) Please also I need step by step instruction on how to install the roms.
    Please with sugar on top. :)
  7. Zombie_Jesus
    Offline

    Zombie_Jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Search this site for them. Or use rom manager premium and download them. Be prepared for any problems by first making a backup (nandroid) and then flash your rom, then your kernal.

    Sent by an Original Droid. BB 6.2 O/C w Chevy lv 1.25
  8. Zombie_Jesus
    Offline

    Zombie_Jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Instructions can also be found with the roms. Remember, after backing up, wipe everything before install of rom only

    Sent by an Original Droid. BB 6.2 O/C w Chevy lv 1.25
  9. rudydroid
    Offline

    rudydroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    imperial valley, california
    had the same problem once.
    there's an app in the market that will show what is using your resources, esp cpu.
    ended up bbc app kept hogging resources and cpu.
    I uninstalled it, problem fixed.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  10. Zombie_Jesus
    Offline

    Zombie_Jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Those apps are not needed on froyo or gb tho. They auto kill apps anyway. The cache is probly full. Try compcache for a better result.

    Sent by an Original Droid. BB 6.2 O/C w Chevy lv 1.25
  11. GadgetRick
    Offline

    GadgetRick New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This sounds more like the problem I'm having. It's not a clocking issue as it runs fine sometimes and slooooooowww other times.

    Will give it a shot.
  12. Zombie_Jesus
    Offline

    Zombie_Jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    I have mine set to 26% and its been wonderful. I also have cachemate clear automatically every 3 hours. If this doesn't fix your problems with lag, then you may have "free" market apps sending info about your usage and this could cause it. Always check those permissions on install, lol.

    Sent by an Original Droid. BB 6.2 O/C w Chevy lv 1.25
  13. GadgetRick
    Offline

    GadgetRick New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Good idea. We'll see how it does. Just installed an app to clear my cache(s).
  14. Zombie_Jesus
    Offline

    Zombie_Jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Good luck!

    Sent by an Original Droid. BB 6.2 O/C w Chevy lv 1.25
  15. iamjoe
    Offline

    iamjoe New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    usa - NJ
    I had the same issue with my DROID 1. I am not rooted. I did a factory reset, and stopped using any application launcher. All is well now.

    FACTORY RESET is your friend, it was mine.
  16. Zombie_Jesus
    Offline

    Zombie_Jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Factory reset is pointless if it is a cache issue. As for launchers, unless rooted and o/c'd....its gonna lag. Still say set up comp cacheing and ,if so inclined, root/rom/kernal.

    Sent by an Original Droid. BB 6.2 O/C w Chevy lv 1.25
  17. GadgetRick
    Offline

    GadgetRick New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Update, since clearing the cache it seems to be working MUCH faster. Thanks Zombie!

    One thing I haven't tried yet is going from the camera app to the gallery to see if it cured that. It' really annoying as it takes about 10-15 seconds to do so.
  18. TheSkump
    Offline

    TheSkump New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried Cachemate as well, and I've got to say, this has been the most consistent speed improvement on my phone, ever. I thought those task-killers did the job, but I think they're just a placebo compared to the cache clearing...

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
Search tags for this page

original droid slowing down