[Opinion] Galaxy 3 upgrade: What have you noticed different?

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy S3' started by Shadez, Dec 14, 2012.

  1. brisk21
    Offline

    brisk21 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Keyboard is much better!!! I love how I can watch a video and do other things to.
  2. k1ngr4t
    Offline

    k1ngr4t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Good update overall, but there are a few things I dislike, or will at least take some adjusting to. Mostly with the notification bar...

    For one, I'm not a big fan of the gray notification bar. I liked the ICS black. It also seems to be a little less....smooth when pulling it down. I'm not saying it's laggy, but it doesn't feel like it grabs and drags as fluently as it used to. I also am not liking the time stamp that's at the top instead of the actual top part of the notification bar so we can see the little icons of what's on. It feels a little more cluttered to me instead of opening it up which I think was the intention. And I wish there was a way to turn off the brightness setting. I like it in theory, but I use a third party brightness app, so I never even touch those settings, so again, it's just cluttering it.

    Also for some reason when I hit the home button to unlock it goes straight to the home screen instead of my widget locker lock screen. It used to go to the lock screen, which I use all the time. I've looked everywhere but can't find a setting for this. Any ideas?

    Overall it seems to be a standard upgrade. Battery is maybe slightly better if not identical, camera updates are nice, the new Swype is accurate as hell (just wish you could change the look), and I can't wait till GoogleNow is more personalized. Hopefully I'll be able to actually use Wallet sometime soon and I guess there's still more to come so we'll see!!!
  3. tc1
    Offline

    tc1 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    You could do that before jb update.
  4. tc1
    Offline

    tc1 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I don't know if it's a part of touchwiz or jb, but now after 5 years of smartphones they implement the most incredible feature to debut since the dawn of smartphones..........

    Stock repeating alerts for missed texts!!!
  5. k1ngr4t
    Offline

    k1ngr4t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I just want to add to my post that those who's home button is unlocking to the home screen is actually a Widgetlocker issue that should be addressed in a future update. So I'm sticking with the stock lockscreen for now, try it out on JB.
  6. brisk21
    Offline

    brisk21 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Wow. I didn't know that...I thought that was new.
  7. music life
    Offline

    music life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Va beach
    For me my phone got kinda laggy... As before there was no lag. Google play music messes up alot now. Random apps seem to lag a bit. text message tone cuts off short now.
  8. debrad0307
    Offline

    debrad0307 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    I had the same issue with the text notification. You need to delete some text messages. I deleted some and my notification works perfectly now
  9. condray
    Offline

    condray New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I used to be able to wake the phone up by pressing the home button. I have the lock set to 2 minutes so if I get a text before it locks I used to be able to hit the home button and be where I left off, now it takes me directly to my home screen. It is very annoying. Is this an option that I just can't find or am I doomed to having to hit the lock button to wake up the phone.

    Other than that I love the update. Google Now is has made the phone amazing, I feel like this is the phone I was expecting to get when I bought it months ago. I love it again.
  10. X5collins
    Offline

    X5collins New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I noticed that I can't

    I noticed that I cant delete pages. When you try it says Unfortunately, TouchWiz home has stopped. Everything else seems good but this makes me think the update was not tested.
  11. Crankintopwater69
    Offline

    Crankintopwater69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Greensboro,NC
    Lol!!!,oooh it was tested.3+mths



    Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
  12. sforsyth01
    Offline

    sforsyth01 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    I don't have that issue at all. Was able to delete pages with no issue at all.

    What I find weird is as I am typing the letters appear in the right time but the buttons have a major delay in the showing of them being pressed... They appear to be pressed well after the letter appears on the screen.
  13. Crankintopwater69
    Offline

    Crankintopwater69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Greensboro,NC
    I think you'll like flow beta.



    Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
  14. alboboy10
    Offline

    alboboy10 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm having the same issue. If you figure out the problem let me know what it was please. I've tried everything possible
  15. X5collins
    Offline

    X5collins New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Will do. I bet it takes another update. Already removed battery and everything I know to do.
  16. alboboy10
    Offline

    alboboy10 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Got it. Go to developer options. Put animation scale to a number (1 or whatever)...change it from what it is now. Then go back and try it.

    Change your animation scale back after if it works if you want.
  17. hustler616
    Offline

    hustler616 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    E-Town IN
    This is my biggest problem, very frustrating for me!
  18. dlc1265
    Offline

    dlc1265 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Grosse Pointe, Michigan
    Thats it! Thanks!
  19. k1ngr4t
    Offline

    k1ngr4t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ok, I'm going to come out and say it......

    At this point.....I'm not a big fan of the JB update. No flash, it's ruined a lot of my settings, both for stock and those that relate to third party apps, I don't like the notification bar, battery drain has increased, reception is the exact same, and for some reason my memory use is never as good. On average it used to be around .6/2gb. Now it's been closer to .1/2gb. Still runs fine, but it's cuttin' it pretty close there...
  20. X5collins
    Offline

    X5collins New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Awesome. It worked. I did have to restart my phone for it to work but it worked.
Search tags for this page
galaxy s3 new update screws up text messaging
,
galaxy s3 text tone cut short
,
key pad screwed up on samsung galaxy 3 texting
,
messed up the keyboard on my galaxy 3
,
multitasking split screen 4.0.4 s3
,
samsung galaxy s3 text msgs messing up
,
split screen for rooted g3
,
time is messed up on galaxy s3
,
touchwiz home has stopped galaxy s3
,
unfortunately touchwiz has stopped
,

unfortunately touchwiz home has stopped galaxy s3

,
update on samsung galaxy s3 messed up my keyboard