OpenCore, Stagefright and .WAV Files?

Discussion in 'cvpcs' started by CageU, Aug 25, 2010.

  1. CageU
    Offline

    CageU New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello all,

    I am just curious if the change from OpenCore to Stagefright in the 2.2 update could be the cause for .WAV files not playing upon upgrading from a 2.1 to a 2.2 ROM. My own experience with Sapphire would seem to indicate that this is the case. When initially flashing Sapphire I chose the stagefright option and was not able to play .WAV files. However, upon re-flashing Sapphire without stagefright I am now able to play my .WAV files just fine.

    My question is, is there any way to extract the codecs or whatever it may be that allows .WAV files to play in OpenCore and embed those into Stagefright in some way to add that lost functionality back into 2.2?

    Any input on this would be much appreciated.

    Thanks!
     
  2. OSX2000
    Offline

    OSX2000 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Stagefright is just not ready for prime-time....all it does is break things. WAVs, AACs, MP4s, & streams. Everything works again when Stagefright's turned off.
     
  3. dlwhtrose
    Offline

    dlwhtrose DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Ratings:
    +1
    Is there a way of checking to see if Stagefright is turned on or off??? Both my husband and I are unable to view most youtube videos and I am wondering if this is the cause.
     
  4. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Philly
    Ratings:
    +7
    in build.prop, look for media.stagefright.enable-player. if it's "true" it's enabled, if "false" then it is not.
     
  5. brochaos
    Offline

    brochaos Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    disabling stagefright does break the youtube stuff. the app should still work fine i believe.
     
  6. Invader DJ
    Offline

    Invader DJ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does the patch from Google fix the other stagefright issues besides streaming AAC+?

    I'm looking forward to the next Sapphire release since it has the patch and stagefright enabled so m.youtube.com will work again. I don't have any .wav files but it would be nice to know that those files will play right.
     
  7. CageU
    Offline

    CageU New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, I hope the FRG22D version of Stagefright fixes all these issues. The company I work for has more than a dozen droids running around and we have been getting alot of complaints about not being able to listen to their voicemails. Not such a big deal for me since I am rooted and using Sapphire but they are up a creek unless they want to buy RemoteWave.

    On that note, I bet business has been booming for the devs of RemoteWave since Google broke the .WAV support with Stagefright. LOL!
     
  8. kevdog
    Offline

    kevdog Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    What we need is a way to quickly switch between stagefright and opencore. I'm speculating with this one, however I bet this could be done without a reboot, and would require the loading and unloading of certain modules similar to a linux build. This of course is speculation. Maybe someone else could chime in on this one, however I'm betting something similar to a modprobe, or insmod statement would do this. This could possibly implemented through a script or other such method.