1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

One Click Root For Pro running Gingerbread 2.3.4 or earlier

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Pro' started by jpcalhoun, Sep 8, 2011.

  1. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    Hey guys, there is a article on AndroidCentral about a new way to root Gingerbread. Here is the link to the download and instructions: Pete's Motorola Root Tools
  2. SingingAlcazar
    Offline

    SingingAlcazar New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried this on my pro running Gingerbread and it worked!

    I didn't get the TBH root so I've been lumbering without removing bloatware until now!

    Great post. Thanks!
  3. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    Glad it worked for you. I'm kinda surprised other Pro owners who want to root their Pro but don't want to go the THB method haven't tried this method also.
  4. atlasmap
    Offline

    atlasmap New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi, I just got a pro and really like it (new to android and all this). I rooted the froyo, but not sure how stable GB is for pro. Do i need to root again using the method above if i install GB? I assume so, but being newbie, I'd welcome any advice. thanks!
  5. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    There are a couple of methods to root GB on the Pro. The one mentioned in this post, which seems to work very well and pretty simple. The other method is a two step process and the required purchase of Team Black Hat's app. Both methods are stable. TBH's app is only a few dollars if you decide to go that route. You can find instructions in this forum for the second method...it's a little more involved.
  6. atlasmap
    Offline

    atlasmap New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ah, thanks for the info.
  7. Omgitsjack
    Offline

    Omgitsjack New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i only can get bloat freezer working but nothing else when rooted

    Sent from my DROID Pro using gingerbread build
  8. vivid22
    Offline

    vivid22 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey all! So that method works really well for me, didnt work the first time but the second time it worked like a charm. Every rootable app is able to get root access even after a few restarts - perfect!
    However, here's the issue ... the thing just will not connect to my PC (Win7 x64) after the root. Now I dont know if its a problem with the phone or my Windows since I had just upgraded from a Win 7 32bit to the 64bit version. What happens is very weird.. when I have the newest drivers (5.2.0) installed and I hook up the device with set to Mass Storage, you can see the devices being installed in the taskbar. When having it set to Mass Storage, the MTP Device install fails after a few minutes - it shows in the Device manager as MTP Device under Portable devices with a yellow exclamation mark. The driver that is used is by Windows and even when pointing the driver install to the Moto folder it says the driver is up to date. I can do whatever, reinstall, reboot, reboot phone, reinstall again ... nothing. When having the drivers deinstalled, it attempts to install the Motorola ADB interface which fails after a couple of minutes as well. What is going on here? I have read that the only thing that may work is a factory reset of the phone but that is just such a pain with all the stuff i have frozen in Titanium Backup ... I mean I cant even backup all of my data since I cant hook it up per USB. Is there any way around this???
  9. Omgitsjack
    Offline

    Omgitsjack New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    search for pete's Motorola root tool on google. the plain rooting method dont work for motorola devices so u need the one i listed to search for.

    Sent from my DROID Pro using DroidForums
  10. vivid22
    Offline

    vivid22 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Pete's Root tool was the one I used that caused the problem ...
  11. kapilthio
    Offline

    kapilthio New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I used Pete's Motorola Root Tools @ Pete's Motorola Root Tools to root Droid Pro XT610

    It did not work on Windows 7. But worked Great on Windows XP.

    Make sure you follow all instructions. Major part is USB connection mode should be 'Charging Only' while most root programs ask for 'PC Mode'.
  12. kapilthio
    Offline

    kapilthio New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I faced the same problem. Pete's tool does not work for Windows 7. Don't know why.

    Use Windows XP if you have.
  13. wildride89
    Offline

    wildride89 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chesapeake, Va
    I believe I used petes tools on my computer and it has windows 7

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  14. nawdman
    Offline

    nawdman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nebraska
    I have used it on windows 7, took my computer a while to install and find drivers for my bionic. I always double up when I root or unroot to make sure everything went. Kinda like measure twice cut once

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC
  15. vivid22
    Offline

    vivid22 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No .. my rooting went just fine, and I used Windows 7 64bit... but I feel it has messed up my drivers to connect it as Mass Storage (as explained above). And I think it may have been due to the rooting ...
  16. jcruckus
    Offline

    jcruckus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    other uses for this root tool

    hey guys, I've been searching for alternative root methods for devices that have 2.3.4 and came across this from a google search. I would love to try it on one of my devices that it does not pertain to, but I need to know what mods this will do to the device.. such as" installs new rooted kernel" or installs alternate recovery, etc.
    If this just mods the existing 2.3.4 kernel to have root access, that would be GREAT!

    just an fyi, the device I am wanting to try this on is a Coby Kyros MID1125 Tablet with 2.3.3 that does not root with Gingerbreak, z4root, nor superoneclickroot, I tried all three. any help would be apreciated.
  17. SilverLad
    Offline

    SilverLad New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  18. dbeauch
    Offline

    dbeauch New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Actually the latest version of SuperOneClick works like a charm on the 1125, but there is an alternative method that works just as good. Just google search "how to root coby kyros 1125" and it's like the first one that comes up.
Search tags for this page
2.3.4 one click root
,

gingerbread 2.3.4 root

,
gingerbread root 2.3.4
,
gingerbreak 2.3.4 download
,
gingerbreak alternative
,
gingerbreak for 2.3.4
,
how to root droid pro 2.3.4
,

how to root gingerbread 2.3.4

,
mb632
,
mb632 root
,
one click root droid pro
,
one click root for gingerbread 2.3.4
,
root android 2.3.4
,

root gingerbread 2.3.4

,
root mb632