OMG what did I do PLEASE HELP

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions & Site Assistance' started by gweeto, Mar 9, 2011.

  1. gweeto

    gweeto New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    whats up droid forums,

    I would like to say Im a total noob when it comes to this I just got a motorola droid a week ago ...
    I have a problem on my hands I downloaded cyanogenmod-6.1.2-droid
    for my motorola droid last night and I thought I had a backup (how do I find out if I have a backup).So after installing cyanogenmod-6.1.2-droid the phone boots up and droid market was gone so I tried to go into rom manager and "flash clockworkmod recovery" and I get this as a error "error while downloading from server. please make sure that you have a stable internet connection,and that you sd card is inserted and has free space" I have wifi and 3g connection, sd card is inserted and 14.gb of free space. how do I restore my phone back to stock ?????
     
  2. Johnly

    Johnly Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    What searched threads have you learned first? Never mind 400 post mod.
     
  3. gweeto

    gweeto New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been in and out of tons of threads looking for some kind of awnsers been searching for hours and
     
  4. mr_silent

    mr_silent Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try holding x and power buttons to boot into recovery.Your phone will have to be off first.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  5. gweeto

    gweeto New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've tried that acouple of times now i went into recovery and tried to do a full wipe and cyanogenmod is still on my phone !!?? any other ideas ?? where do i find my back up folder? can i delete the back up folder?
     
  6. qkpony

    qkpony Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +0
    When you flashed the rom did you do it through rom manager? If so when you boot by holding x in the recovery there should be an option that says nandroid your backup will be in there if you have one.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  7. rlfitz

    rlfitz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Boston
    Ratings:
    +0
    sounds like you just have to load the Google app pack to the CM6 rom you have. I have never used Rom manager so I am not sure how you would have to do it. I use SPrecovery. I think it is a different procedure you have to follow.
    That Cyanogen rom you tried is a good one. I used it for a long time. Just Make sure you read up on alot of different threads. start with the links people have in their sigs. they are the most helpful ones to read. Get some solid information on roms and nandroid back ups and rom manager before you do any more changes to the phone and cause a situation that cant be fixed.
    If you still have a functioning cm6 on your phone , just add the Google app pack (Gapps) for your phone. It will be on the same site you got the rom from. Good luck

    you have 2 threads going with the same topic?
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2011
  8. gweeto

    gweeto New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    to tell you the truth I dont know how exactly I flashed it I wish I did.. and I have tried the gapps for my and they dont install
     
  9. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    The first thing about Clockwork is trying to get Rom Manager to flash a good copy onto your phone. Here is a fool proof method to determine whether you have a good copy before trying to reboot into it. Begin by scrolling down and flashing the alternative recovery – SpRecovery. After it successfully loads, scroll up and flash Clockwork. If it takes longer than 3-5 seconds to get the popup telling you the install was successful, reflash it over and over until you do get that popup in 3-5 seconds. Once that happens, you have a good install.


    Then do the cyanogenmod-6.1.2-droid install with Gapps again.
     
  10. gweeto

    gweeto New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    at this point i just want the phone back to stock and never touch it again !!
    can I delete the back up in my phone ??
     
  11. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
  12. chalie1980

    chalie1980 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes you can delete the back up of your stock rom, but if you look around here there are zip files to get it back to stock, just look around
     
  13. gweeto

    gweeto New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got my phone back!!! restored back to stock thanks to unroot_update.zip I would like to try again with cyanogenmod what is the easiest way to get on phone ??rsd lite?