OMG have you tried the horizontal touch keyboard???

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by rsarno, Jun 17, 2010.

  1. rsarno

    rsarno Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know, stupid question ... im the only one who takes 3 weeks to actually try it ROFL!

    **ill preface, my thumbs are HYOOGE! I mean insane. Im a big boy, with huge hands lol.

    This is amazing! AMAZING! I started typing slowly, and for whatever reason i felt confident to speed up ... to the point where i was basically blindly whacking my thumbs down without even looking. Basically typing so sloppily on purpose that im sure to eff it all up. NOT A SINGLE MISTAKE!!!

    Mind you, i used the keyboard for a total of 1 minutes, and i was whacking away like a 13yr old girl!!
    EDIT, (ok that sounded dirty, im referring to how much and how fast they txt hehe)

    I then went to lunch with my friend who has an iphone, and i bragged about it. We went side by side and i RIPPED him!

    Then i handed him my phone ... his first reaction was "see i cant type on this thing ..." which changed about 30 seconds later to "oh my god, wow"

    Its like jumping off a cliff .. you have to trust yourself, and just push yourself to the next speed. Do it anticipating to make a ton of errors ... even though i bet you wont!

    Unbelievable!

    Now i have a question, is the dInc the same way? my phone is on the way, id hate to lose this great feature :(
     
  2. eliassami5

    eliassami5 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bay Area, Cali
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes the Incredible has the same type of landscape touch keyboard..Your experience would have been even better if you had installed the HTC IME keyboard onto the Droid. Its spell correction and word prediction are top notch...you are likely to make 50% less mistakes using that keyboard. Luckly i think the Inc. has that keyboard stock.
     
  3. rsarno

    rsarno Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    whats that? a skin or an app?
     
  4. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's a keyboard app.
     
  5. titans

    titans Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. toastedoats

    toastedoats Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The hardware keyboard is greatly overrated IMO. i have only used it a half dozen times or so. I love the on screen keyboard, especially with swype!
     
  7. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    The hard keyboard is absolutely necessary. It's how we load updates and ROM's. Outside of that the virtual keyboard is just fine. Swype not necessary.

    Word to the OP. "F" in the title wasn't necessary. The only F we should see is for family and I don't think that is what you were shooting at so I made a slight adjustment. :)
     
  8. jroc

    jroc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,843
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Ratings:
    +63
    Well......u can load updates and ROMs without the hard keyboard.

    Power button is Back key

    Camera button is Select/Enter (except for naming backups while in recovery, u need the hard keyboard for that. But u can name backups after booting your phone up)

    Volume rocker is up/down.
     
  9. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    To go into recovery you need to hold the x key down while booting. At least with SPRecovery you do. Bootloader requires you to press up on the D pad.

    How are you going to do that on a phone without a keypad. I suppose ROM Manager makes this possible, or allows you to bypass these steps but I personally will not use ROM Manager.
     
  10. jroc

    jroc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,843
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Ratings:
    +63
    lol....I forgot about the x key....and RSD Lite....:p

    Im talking about navigating it, when I didnt even get into it yet....doh

    But how in the world do Inc owners boot into recovery?
     
  11. mmobley

    mmobley Theme Developer
    Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    C-Town
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm sure the camera, volume, power and whatever other physical keys are on it.

    Pressed in some kind of combination.
     
  12. rsarno

    rsarno Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The "F" stood for Fabulous .... :)

    hehe, thanks for the correction. rule is noted.