Okay What are My options??

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by NYZ93, Feb 13, 2010.

  1. NYZ93
    Offline

    NYZ93 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    I have dust under my screen and A LOT of it
    and now its really starting to bother me so can someone please list some options of what to do now!:mad::mad::mad::mad::angry::sad::sad::soapbox::soapbox::soapbox::soapbox::censored::censored::censored::censored::icon_cussing::icon_cussing::icon_cussing::cus::cus::cus::cus:
  2. zz500
    Offline

    zz500 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AZ
    Try vacuuming it. LOL, I'm just thinking out loud before you take it back. I haven't seen anyone suggest this because it sounds so stupid. But maybe see if a vacuum nozzle can suck through the crevasses.
  3. INSANENEIVIESIS
    Offline

    INSANENEIVIESIS New Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    go to Verizon and get a new on make sure to undo root if you have it and remove any screen protectors that are applied by water if you have one. Such as (invisible shield)
  4. BavarianBuilt
    Offline

    BavarianBuilt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Definitely stop into a Verizon store and see what they can do for you. Dust is frustrating :mad:
  5. tktouch12
    Offline

    tktouch12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have dust too. every phone/ electronic i've ever had has had major dust problems. i want to get a new one, but im worried i'd get one that has other problems.
  6. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    This has been discussed many times. If you have dust under your screen that's a legitimate reason for replacement. Verizon will honor the warranty, however I strongly recommend you handle it from the phone. The reaction to this from Verizon store to store may vary.
  7. tcassio
    Offline

    tcassio New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Don't carry the phone naked in your pocket.:)
  8. NYZ93
    Offline

    NYZ93 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    BTW vacuming = HUGE Fail for two reasons

    1.Waste of electricity
    2.Waste of my life

    im not gonna lie i was gonna try it b4 you said anything
    just givin pplz a heads up
  9. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have dust under my screen. Went into a VZW store and they wouldn't replace it. Said that it was probably getting in through the ear speaker. Then they recommended a screen protector or case to prevent it. Which makes no sense since the opening for the speaker isn't covered by either.

    Was very unhappy with the end result. They admitted they could see the dust but said because it's not interfering with operation (screen still perfectly responsive) I was not getting a replacement.

    I will be calling CS this week to complain, as it's clearly a manufacturer defect. Naked or not, in my pocket or not, there shouldn't be ANYTHING under the glass.

    If it was manufactured with no defect, it wouldn't allow the dust under the screen IMO.
  10. zz500
    Offline

    zz500 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AZ
    I suggested the vacuuming idea as tongue in cheek and it was the first idea that popped into my twisted droid head. As Martin mentioned, you may not have any luck trying to get a replacement.

    I feel your pain, and good luck with VZ.
  11. Berzerker
    Offline

    Berzerker New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nothing else to do except return it to VZW. Friend of mine had a dust problem, replaced it, and the second one was fine.
  12. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    I've seen others post here with this issue. They got a replacement with no problem. I think if I went to a store and they didn't replace for a valid issue I'd walk out, call Verizon, get them to add a note to my account saying a swap was ok, walk back in and tell them to swap it. The benefit of calling first is they can tell you which stores have phones in stock to swap with you. Unless you're ok with it being shipped to where you live.
  13. Laramie
    Offline

    Laramie New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Montana
    I've seen multiple posts mentioned that early droids had an earpiece that wasn't blocked and allowed dust to get it and now the problem is fixed. Take that with a grain of salt.

    I'm not on Droid #2, no dust issues w/ either and it seemed on my first, there was LOTS of dust in the earpiece hole, but nothing made it to the screen.
  14. Hugh Jass
    Offline

    Hugh Jass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,564
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    48
    My dust appears to enter through the volume toggle.
  15. sherylhs
    Offline

    sherylhs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SE, Michigan
    I'm confused. My volume button (if that is what you are talking about) is on the bottom half of the phone, not the screen half.
    :blink:
  16. Hugh Jass
    Offline

    Hugh Jass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,564
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    48
    You know I never even thought about that (>.<) but it is EXACTLY where it appears to be coming from only as you point out it can't. It's so thick right at the edge of the screen I can't see though it in direct sunlight and as you move outward it fades away to clean. If it were coming through the earpiece wouldn't it originate from the center top propagating outward instead of the far right upper corner?
  17. NYZ93
    Offline

    NYZ93 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Yea i was just about to say that
    if so it would take a long time and a lot of wind to push it all the way to the screen
  18. NYZ93
    Offline

    NYZ93 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    ok so i think ima go to verizon to get it exchanged but
    is there a way to get all my apps back?? seeing as how i would lose them all in a swap :mad:
    Btw i tried to take it up with motorola Dont ask me why..
    and i just wanted to state how much i hate talking with people overseas seeing as how much they dont know english :soapbox::censored:

    im telling the lady i have dust under my screen and she replies ok so you have DOTS so ok i want you to do as i say reboot the phone (in my head im like WTF! i have dust whats rebooting gonna do turn on a vacum in the phone) so now i tell the lady i HAVE DUST NOT DOTS DUST so now she understands what i am saying (i know this cause she spelled out the word dust) no she goes ok um can u restart the phone im like no i have dust :mad: anywayz yea i wanted to share that somewhat random point of anger with me and big companies hiring motherf'n people overseas that dont know english especially when its for tech support cause you are already fustrated that the product you paid good money for :motdroidvert: is malfunctioning some how, and then the people youre talking to for help dont know english and probably have never seen the F'n product ahhh any way yea thats all i got

    but please dont forget to answer my question up top of this post (not thread)
    and share youre opinion on outsourcing.
  19. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio

    Your paid apps will be in your downloads. Your remaining apps you will have to get individually. You will not be charged for your paid apps again.:)
  20. NYZ93
    Offline

    NYZ93 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Your paid apps will be in your downloads. Your remaining apps you will have to get individually. You will not be charged for your paid apps again.:)[/QUOTE]


    so not my free ones??