ok still runnin root 2.0.1

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by bobmundo123, May 1, 2010.

  1. bobmundo123
    Offline

    bobmundo123 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok.. anyone out there have a rom that'll upgrade me from what i have now to 2.1 root with wifi tether? I've been out of the loop for a while..
  2. Jonny Kansas
    Offline

    Jonny Kansas Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Just about any of them will these days, but you'll need to do a factory reset after installing because 2.0.1 and 2.1 roms aren't compatible.
  3. bobmundo123
    Offline

    bobmundo123 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    kinda confused by "factory reset"

    well would would i have to do right now if i want to get to runing 2.1 rooted... and more screens
  4. Jonny Kansas
    Offline

    Jonny Kansas Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    In So recovery and clockwork, there are options to wipe data/factory reset. If you don't do that when switching between 2.0.1 and 2.1, you have constant force close issues.

    Are you looking to run a custom rom, or just stock 2.1, but rooted?
  5. bobmundo123
    Offline

    bobmundo123 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Im fine with stock.. Maybe just multiple screens... But need root for wifi tether, and overclocking
  6. beneharris
    Offline

    beneharris New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    portland
    if you just want stock 2.1 with root, pete (bugless beast) has a stock 2.1 rom that is worth checking out. you can wifi tether (i would use barnacle from the market) and over clock
  7. bobmundo123
    Offline

    bobmundo123 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You have a link for that specific rom
  8. beneharris
    Offline

    beneharris New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    portland
  9. bobmundo123
    Offline

    bobmundo123 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  10. Kmart95
    Offline

    Kmart95 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    You can always install helix launcher which is an app on the market that allows you to pick between 1-7 screens
  11. bobmundo123
    Offline

    bobmundo123 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK.. Big problem. i used that updat.zip.. and i currenltly have clockrecovery mod or something.. its mad GAYYY.. i want nandroid SPRECOVERY.. and its not rooted.. its jus stock unrooted.. 2.1.. not cool... whats the next step.. to getting back sprecovery.. and getting rooted..