Ok newbie here. Should I hop on WiFi when available to save on my data plan?

RAZRmax

Reaction score
Coming from the Linux/desktop world, so please excuse me :). I am on Verizon and have a 4GB data plan. When I am out and about, if WiFi is available should I hop on it or keep WiFi off and stay on the Verizon system?

I want to make sure I don't go over my 4GB package and if I understand WiFi correctly, connecting using it doesn't consume my normal Verizon data bandwidth, but I'm also concerned about risks involved with going on a WiFi system since there isn't any security.

LoudRam

Silver Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Samsung Z Flip 3
Yes, using wifi will not count against your data limit but as you pointed out there is a security risk using unsecured wifi. I don't know if there is an app that can help you with wifi security. Maybe someone else knows.

Sent from my HTC Rezound using Droid Forums

JeffDenver

Reaction score
Coming from the Linux/desktop world, so please excuse me :). I am on Verizon and have a 4GB data plan. When I am out and about, if WiFi is available should I hop on it or keep WiFi off and stay on the Verizon system?

I want to make sure I don't go over my 4GB package and if I understand WiFi correctly, connecting using it doesn't consume my normal Verizon data bandwidth, but I'm also concerned about risks involved with going on a WiFi system since there isn't any security.

I would just as a matter of course. But I use data heavily on my phone and rarely go over 1.5 gigs a month. 4 gigs is more than you think, and is basically the same as unlimited for most people. I know that people who use over 4 gigs a month exist, but I have never actually met any in real life.

I use wifi when available just because it is still faster most of the time. 4G has really good throughput, but ping times are still way better on wifi. So stuff comes up faster.

iamjoe

Reaction score