1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Ok, Im done with clockwork recovery.

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by adrynalyne, Mar 16, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I like it, I really do.

    But this is literally the fifth time its bit me in arse. I just backed up a ROM, and then tried a new kernel (which broke everything) and restore back only to have EVERYTHING crash on boot. Yes I have the latest version of CW.

    Ironically enough, its most often when backing up koush's ROM.

    I know its CW, because I can flash an older image and the backups work--sometimes.

    In this case I had to flash back from 1.7.1 to 1.6.3 just to get my phone back up with a backup I made with....1.7.1.

    I'm done with it.
  2. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    I'm with you. It will not allow me restore my phone with anything it creates. I did exactly the same thing as you, tried a new kernel and that screwed everything up. But this was after having tried CM 5.0.4.2 about 6 times. And having to reload sprecovery each time in order to use a nandroid backup.Clockwork was fine until I had to restore using it. It has never worked for me. :mad:
  3. pthance
    Offline

    pthance New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, I resigned myself to doing backups on SPRecovery and flashing his ROM's with ClockWork....its annoying to use two recovery images but hey...whatever works in my opinion.
  4. cupfulloflol
    Offline

    cupfulloflol New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had quite a few problems with it myself, last thing I want is a recovery program to be problematic, coughRSDLitecough. What good is a recovery program if you possibly won't be able to recover things.
  5. RoLa
    Offline

    RoLa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    801
    YEP....+1 for OP..I went back and forth a couple of times, to try out the CyanogenMod ROM. I ended up flashing the .sbf file last night because I was unable to boot into Clockwork recovery.1.7.1..UUGHH! I was so Mad!!:mad:.
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2010
  6. jdlfg
    Offline

    jdlfg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    I had that issue a couple nights back running the scripts on one of the other threads. However, after reflashing 1.6.9 I was good. I have since had to restore using 1.7.1. guess we will see.
  7. mjs31
    Offline

    mjs31 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    873
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NE Texas
    I lost my led light for some reason. How do I get sprecovery back?
  8. jdlfg
    Offline

    jdlfg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    You lost it completely or when the screen is on?
  9. rotordroid
    Offline

    rotordroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Rosa, CA
    I use CW to flash Koush's ROM's, get everything the way I like, use rcimage to switch back to sprecovery, then do an sprecovery back-up of Koush....it's a pain, but that way I can always retore anything with sprecovery and never have to use CW for recovery's, only initial flashes.
  10. Flomaster
    Offline

    Flomaster Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    East Texas
    I too tried to load a CW backup and upon reboot I have every FC on me and I couldn't even do anything I had to do a battery pull and reboot into CW and install the ROM again

    -=Jason=-
  11. Invader DJ
    Offline

    Invader DJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yea, Clockwork Recovery does suck. I wanted to try out Cyanogen ROM, so I installed CW. I made a backup of my bugless beast install and then installed Cyanogen. After using it for awhile I wanted to revert back. Tried to restore the backup, after that couldn't boot at all. Just got to Motorola logo and froze. I thought I had bricked my phone for a little bit. Thankfully I was able to just reinstall Cyanogen from the SD card. After that I reinstalled sprecovery/nandroid and reinstalled Bugless Beast. I'm not touching Cyanogen again until CW isn't required.
  12. Riddick
    Offline

    Riddick New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What's with the people who claimed that clockwork was so superior when it clearly is buggy as hell in its current state?
  13. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had a sneaking suspicion that CW was bad news from the get go. I dont mean to imply that the dev is unintelligent or malicious, but I had a feeling that two recovery apps would clash for a lot of people.
  14. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Current state, yes. Initial sate, no.
  15. Roland B.
    Offline

    Roland B. New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kanab, Utah
    I've also been having trouble with CW and now finally done with it.
  16. forkup
    Offline

    forkup New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There was an issue with 1.7.7 but 1.7.7.3 is fine. I've backed up and restored with no problems.
  17. jwalletmd
    Offline

    jwalletmd New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I agree with the above....bought the CW Pro to do OTA ultimate droid updates...decided to see what Cyanogen was all about...want to go back to ultimate, but CW won't restore my backup....gives me an error "mismatch md5" or something like that....bummer
    any suggestions/help?
  18. koush
    Offline

    koush Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you get force closes on restores, you can fix those by running Fix Permissions within ROM Manager. Or fix_permissions from adb. I'll just make that part of the restore process.
  19. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    It always works for some and never works for others.
  20. koush
    Offline

    koush Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Also, if you hop onto IRC or PM me, I can give you my gchat. I'd be more than happy to help you and really want to fix any bugs I find in the recovery. Keep in mind that this recovery is currently not just running on the Droid, but on around 8 phones (Tattoo, N1, Sapphire, Magic, Dream, Eris, Hero, Droid...). So there are bound to be bugs, as I work around the slight differences between each phone.

    But, I intend to be very supportive, but simply posting "recovery is broken, I am switching" isn't going to help me get the problem resolved. I'm very responsive to issues, just ask Blackdroid. :)
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Search tags for this page
android cyg recover
,
how to extract a yaffs2 image
,
how to extract system.yaffs2.win
,
mac+os+x+unyaffs tools
,
mkyaffs2image for osx
,

mkyaffs2image.exe download

,
unyaffs tool mac
,
wunyaffs exe download