1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

"Ok Google" Hotword Functions On Every Screen Without Root!

Discussion in 'Android News' started by DroidModderX, Jul 3, 2014.

  1. DroidModderX
    Offline

    DroidModderX Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    2,031
    Likes Received:
    339
    Trophy Points:
    83
    [​IMG]

    A recent update to Google Now brings the "OK Google" hot word feature to any screen on your device. Previously the hot word detection had only been working from the homescreen of the Google Experience Launcher or inside the Google Now app. Even with the update this feature is not available on every google account. There is now a fix to get this working on every google account. The fix was discovered by a redditor "xStreame"

    Open Google Now
    Search for "Ok Google everywhere"
    click any link
    back out of google now
    go to settings / voice
    and turn on audio history and anywhere detection

    Via XDA
    mslaceyrose and da2zoe like this.
  2. da2zoe
    Offline

    da2zoe Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Gal from Idaho
    That was easy...thanks for sharing! Works great with Apex launcher!

    ~tapa~
    mslaceyrose likes this.
  3. ChiefIlliniwek5
    Offline

    ChiefIlliniwek5 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    AWESOME! I've been searching non-stop for any indication that this feature was rolling out as soon as they announced it several days ago. Thank you!
  4. LoudRam
    Offline

    LoudRam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,266
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    The OK Google hot word has always worked on every screen and with every launcher I've used. I guess the X never had that issue. Just one more reason why I love this phone.

    Glad to see you guys can enjoy this feature too.
  5. GoCliffGo05
    Offline

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,713
    Likes Received:
    277
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Maryland
    It was built into the x, that's why you had no issues. :)

    It's awesome they are rolling it out to everyone.

    Sent from my Eclipsed XT1060
    cr6, LoudRam and mslaceyrose like this.
  6. mslaceyrose
    Offline

    mslaceyrose Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2014
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Eastern USA
    Bless your heart, lol. Worked like a charm. thanks. I had been waiting for the update to roll out to me. I run my life with Google Now. I use it in the car for hands-free sending of emails, messages, starting navigation, setting reminders, et cet. Having to first go to the homescreen or open the search app kind of defeated the whole purpose of the hands-free thing, ya know? Now it really works from anywhere. Happy
    da2zoe, Shadez and sajokaz like this.
  7. johnomaz
    Offline

    johnomaz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Central Valley, California
    Very nice! Works on my HTC M8 with Sense 6.
    mslaceyrose likes this.
  8. LoudRam
    Offline

    LoudRam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,266
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    OK, I'm a little slow on the uptake today. I thought that it was a problem with the phones that had it built in. Since it isn't and now it's available to all phones I just added it to my wife's DNA. It looks like it'll work but she still has to train it.
    da2zoe and mslaceyrose like this.
  9. hammerhead13
    Offline

    hammerhead13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Florida
    Maybe I am doing something wrong or maybe its the version I have but I Turned on Audio History but dont see Google Everywhere.
    Narsil likes this.
  10. Shadez
    Offline

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,359
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    I believe you need 4.4.3 or 4.4.4 for it to show up.
  11. hammerhead13
    Offline

    hammerhead13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Florida
    I thought that was the case. I don't plan on Updating to KitKat till I get it Rooted. I'll have to live without OK Googling Everywhere.
  12. Shadez
    Offline

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,359
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Hmm I'm on an HTC M8 and I don't see it anywhere.. on android 4.4.2
  13. johnomaz
    Offline

    johnomaz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Central Valley, California
    I'm on 4.4.2 also. I followed the instructions perfectly. My phone is rooted but it also worked on my wife's phone which is 100% stock.
  14. johnomaz
    Offline

    johnomaz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Central Valley, California
    I'm on 4.4.2 and it works.
  15. Shadez
    Offline

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,359
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
  16. Shadez
    Offline

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,359
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    I just checked with a friend who is using a Galaxy S5 on AT&T and using 4.4.2 also and she has the option also ..
  17. xeene
    Online

    xeene Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,587
    Likes Received:
    144
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    usa
    This option disables video recording on Motorola phones giving an error message not able to record media.
  18. liftedplane
    Offline

    liftedplane Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Washington State
    still not working for me on my note 2.. or my friends S5
  19. cr6
    Offline

    cr6 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    148
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    NW Rocky Mtn region
    Works on our two S5s. Even with a third party launcher. (Apex)

    tap'n on my S5
  20. leeshor
    Offline

    leeshor Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    2,672
    Likes Received:
    289
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    NOT SO FAST. New wrinkle.
    Okay Google Everywhere working on your device without waiting for Google, but there's a catch. If you turn on the lock screen functionality, it makes your phone a little less secure.
    Details at Android Police.
    mslaceyrose likes this.