1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

OK gettin a little PO'ed here

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by sam5828, Feb 8, 2010.

  1. sam5828
    Offline

    sam5828 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok i was having trouble with the root of my phone i couldnt get the overclock to go over 550 and i noticed in my super users app there was nothing there. I have the led's hack it worked but there were no permissions in SU. so i re did the update.zip file now my phone is no longer rooted. I am running 2.1. where the hell did it go wrong. But the SU app is still there.

    Someone help cuz im ready to bust this thing and start over with a new phone:mad:
  2. beneharris
    Offline

    beneharris New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    portland
    did you add anything to let it be overclocked? you ahve to downlaod rom's or kernels for that
  3. sam5828
    Offline

    sam5828 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    nope, but im lost as to why it is un rooted now
  4. beneharris
    Offline

    beneharris New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    portland
    if the SU app is still there, you should still be rooted
  5. beneharris
    Offline

    beneharris New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    portland
    did you follow any instructions on getting ti rooted? i know that helped me a lot when i did it.

    you can go to Root Your Droid

    good stuff
  6. sam5828
    Offline

    sam5828 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thats what i thought but im not i cant use the over clock anymore says read only and the led hack fc now and wont work
  7. sam5828
    Offline

    sam5828 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ya it was rooted and working but didnt think it was working right so i re installed the update.zip file and now it is unrooted for some reason
  8. c4Blimtizle
    Offline

    c4Blimtizle New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Download the sholesmod updater. very sweet the developer put alot of time into it you run the app it roots makes nandroid and flashes new rom for you all in about 35 min. my droid can overclock to 1 ghz : ) runs very very well
  9. sam5828
    Offline

    sam5828 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok i did that now i get

    Looks like your phone is rooted but you have not given smupdater access yet. you must check the remember box........ where is that?
  10. sam5828
    Offline

    sam5828 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok i went to do a nandroid restore and i got error: exited with status 2 what does that mean?
  11. sam5828
    Offline

    sam5828 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok i did a nandroid back up and i got tis as the file name console=ttyS2,115200n8 i open it up and there is a BDS file name in there and it never done this before and it still wont redo the backup with this new back up i just created
  12. Logan3824
    Offline

    Logan3824 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    Do you have SPrecovery installed?
  13. sam5828
    Offline

    sam5828 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i dont think so unless it came with something else i downloaded
  14. blake2050
    Offline

    blake2050 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You probably dont. Your best bet would be to install sprecovery manualy through command prompt and then do a nandroid restore of a custom ROM. The rom will give you root again, leave sprecovery on, and will come with the kernel you need to overclock. Only thing though is its based off 2.0.1 and not 2.1 like you said you had...
  15. sam5828
    Offline

    sam5828 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well what is weird is i could type su all by itself in the terminal and it would open but now i have to put $su and it goes to the next line
  16. Sam
    Offline

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    sam, looks like you are having some issues.. perhaps search for the "easiest way to get back to stock" thread and do that, to start from square one (you don't lose whatever contacts that are synced with your gmail account and whatever apps you have paid for can be redownloaded fo free), then do the sholes mod updater and follow the prompts.. also took me about 30 min and i'm currently clocked at 1ghz without doing anything different...
  17. sam5828
    Offline

    sam5828 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ya thats what i was looking for sorta as long as i can get back to the 2.1
  18. Sam
    Offline

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    2.1 is supposed to be dropping this week.. if that is what you want, just go back to stock and wait it out.. though there is a chance you might not be able to root again
  19. sam5828
    Offline

    sam5828 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  20. blake2050
    Offline

    blake2050 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sprecovery may be messed up. I would try to reflash the recovery again, basically starting sprecovery install all over, and see if that helps you out...You will have to skip a couple steps though since theyve already been done..