OK, Explain it to me like I'm a 3yr old...

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by butch350, Mar 8, 2010.

  1. butch350

    butch350 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Uni-Matrix-Zero
    Ratings:
    +0
    well not
    literally. But

    WTF is the difference between the "SWYPE" and the "SLIDE IT" keyboards
    other than the "SLIDE IT" having a lot more nifty features?
     
  2. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +1
    It's like asking what the difference is between Ford and Chevy. Everyone's going to have different answers, and there are some feature differences, but they both achieve the same thing.
     
  3. jsh1120

    jsh1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,455
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Ratings:
    +1
    What "nifty features" are you referring to? I've used both rather extensively (as well as Shapewriter) and while I found SlideIt to be a good application, I still prefer Swype.

    Not saying you're wrong. Just cannot think offhand of features SlideIt has that Swype lacks.
     
  4. jigsawkilr

    jigsawkilr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    +1 to SlideIT. Ever since the Beta version of Swype came out, now when I re-boot my device I have to uninstall and then reinstall Swype to get it to work again. Don't have that with SlideIT. I think the next time I need to re-boot I will leave it uninstalled and run SlideIT
     
  5. hondaguy520

    hondaguy520 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    sw florida
    Ratings:
    +3
    i prefer swype because it is from one of the makers of T9WORD, and i believe swype was first, and i hate impostors and copiers
     
  6. RyanS2000

    RyanS2000 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you are referring to the msg at reboot "Swype is not configured for this device so will have limited functionality" then you can get it to work properly again by killing the process or by switching back to Android kb then back to Swype. No need to totally reinstall it. Swype developers are well aware of this and it should be resolved very soon per their forums.

    +1 swype
     
  7. cb3FSU

    cb3FSU Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    theres a link in the apps forum to the correct version of swype. i was having the same problem, now it works perfectly
     
  8. takeshi

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    3 year olds these days wouldn't even need an explanation. :D
     
  9. papy72

    papy72 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't even get swype to work. Every time I tried to swype a word my phone would just give me an error beep. Had to actually type the words out just like the stock android KB.

    So I uninstalled it.
     
  10. hondaguy520

    hondaguy520 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    sw florida
    Ratings:
    +3