OG Droid - rooted, deleted several apk's, now I can't update. What now?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by Bullwinkle, Nov 29, 2011.

  1. Bullwinkle
    Offline

    Bullwinkle New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Howdy all. I've been enjoying my OG Droid for about a year and a half. When I got it, I immediately rooted and deleted (rather than renaming like I should have) a number of .APK's. I was dead set to get rid of a number of apps such as the browser, youtube, etc.

    Here's what I'm running - I don't know what all of these mean either...

    Version 2.2
    Baseband C_01.3E.03P
    Kernel 2.66.32.9 (pierce@MyDroidWorld#212)
    Build # 2.2 FRF84B 42477

    So - I've been getting a push notification for an update for a LONG time and have been ignoring it for a LONG time. I'm sick of it popping up and interrupting whatever is going on.

    I tried to accept it finally and it won't install. From what I can tell, it's because of the missing APK's - which I don't know how to find or put back.

    Am I stuck, or is there a way to put it back to stock and then update from there? I did a backup before rooting it, but after over a year and a half I have lost track of it. Also, if I do end up with an update, will I still be able to root the phone.

    Last resort - Take my available upgrade and forget about it.
  2. B-Unit
    Offline

    B-Unit Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    You can get a .SBF of the original configuration, I also believe there is an SBF floating around for the Froyo update.

    Look around in the Droid Hacks section, that contains most of the info regarding rooting, SBFing, and/or ADBing.
  3. ilikemoneygreen
    Offline

    ilikemoneygreen New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,579
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, Superstition MTNs!
    This is an easy repair. You have early froyo build. most of the modern roms disable updates by default. Dont flash a sbf, thats unnecessary. Thats like nuking when you only need a tank. All you need to do is download Clockworkmod from the market, its called rom manager. Download that, flash the recovery and download a more modern rom. their is 2.3 now, and Cyanogen is great, so is ss. Its all going to be an upgrade from what you currently have. Your baseband i believe is good so is your kernal. but thats just going off of memory. my phones dead now so i cant compare.
  4. ilikemoneygreen
    Offline

    ilikemoneygreen New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,579
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, Superstition MTNs!
    Also make sure you bakup your rom through clockwork too! i can walk you through it if youd like... you can keep your texts apps and such. i can give you a lot more advice but at the moment i think you may have already sbf.... which while b-unit is right it is a fix, i dont think it was the best fix for your situation...
  5. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,310
    Likes Received:
    534
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Money has some good advice. If you need anymore help, just let us know.
  6. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    You can find all the basebands for the Droid 1 here: Peter Alfonso: Download . There were two later versions for that phone. The files on this site are zip files that can be installed via Clockwork or RZR.

    I always recommend Chevy's SS4.96 froyo rom. It is running on my wife's (used to mine) Droid 1. It is smooth as silk and totally stable!! 1/17/11 - SS 4.96 is Ready! and it comes with one of Chevy's kernels and they were always good on my Droid 1.

    Enjoy and good luck.
  7. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    My friend wants to root his d1. Will one click (like z4) work for him? If not what's the easiest way to root it? He's not too tech savvy. Thanks for any help

    Edit. Nvm I found that the d3 method works on the d1
  8. ilikemoneygreen
    Offline

    ilikemoneygreen New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,579
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, Superstition MTNs!
    Z4 root is a good pick.
  9. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Oh that'll work too? Sweet. Cheers
  10. Bullwinkle
    Offline

    Bullwinkle New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I haven't done anything yet. I'm trying to remember how I did anything in the first place. :)
  11. Bullwinkle
    Offline

    Bullwinkle New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Doing this, went with the Chevy SS4.96 suggestion from BayouFlyFisher, a couple posts up. Hopefully it all works out ok. Rebooting now...
  12. ilikemoneygreen
    Offline

    ilikemoneygreen New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,579
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, Superstition MTNs!
    Ss is nice. I ran that for a good month or two. One of my favorites. :)

    Sent from a bubble gum factory because im all out of gum.
  13. Bullwinkle
    Offline

    Bullwinkle New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, I've tried installing ss4.96 from within Rom Manager 3 times with no apparent success. When I go to settings>about phone it shows the same thing as I started with.

    I loaded the rom onto my SD card and chose "install rom from sd card" option in rom manager. Chose rom (1st time selected backup existing rom) and hit ok. it rebooted with no change. Next time I did not choose backup, nada. 3rd time should be a charm, right? Nope.

    help? I'll be back in a couple hours.
  14. ilikemoneygreen
    Offline

    ilikemoneygreen New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,579
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, Superstition MTNs!
    Make sure its booting into recovery. If its just restarting then their may be a problem. Try downloading SS from rom manager itself instead of installing from sd, because im not sure of what file your using but maybe its corrupted. .
  15. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA

    Installation Instructions [ClockWork]
    1) Download the ROM of your choice and place on your SD Card
    2) Reboot into ClockWork recovery
    3) Scroll down and select “Backup and Restore”
    4) Select “Backup
    5) After backup is complete
    6) Select “Wipe data”
    7) Select “Wipe Cache
    8) Select “Install zip from sdcard”
    9) select “Choose Zip from sdcard”
    10) Navigate to where you placed the ROM and select it
    11) On the Confirm Install screen scroll down and select “Yes
    12) Your ROM will be installed
    13) Reboot from the main screen of ClockWork Recovery
  16. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Forgot to add, do not try installing from Rom Manager. Boot into Clockwork and do the install manually.
    1 person likes this.
  17. ilikemoneygreen
    Offline

    ilikemoneygreen New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,579
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, Superstition MTNs!
    I do this most the time as well. It may not be as easy as clicking a button from rom manager but it is better becuase you can see the log of what you did and if something went wrong or can even do other things.
  18. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    How does one boot into cwr on a d1? I've always used either d2 bootstrap or rom manager (cm7)

    CM7-11/22
  19. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,310
    Likes Received:
    534
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    When the phone is off, hold down the power button and "X" on the keyboard. Keep holding X until cwr shows up

    Tapped from an Unbrickable DROID
  20. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Sweet. That just takes me into stock recovery on my d2. So do I need to flash cwr somehow or does it just show up (not likely)?

    CM7-11/22
Search tags for this page

easy root og droid apk

,

ogdroid.apk