OG Droid Apps that dont work when moved to SD

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by spatialfear, Dec 5, 2011.

  1. spatialfear

    spatialfear New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Was wondering if I can get a list from the Vets up in here on which apps do not function when moved to SD storage. Asking since I got SD Booster and it states not to place in SD Card. So that I know exactly or close to what I have to have in Phone memory to work properly in my Rooted Droid. Which leaves all new apps to be moved into SD with no issues. Any help would be awesomely appreciated. Thanks
     
  2. Droid Firefighter

    Droid Firefighter Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ratings:
    +25
    Current Phone Model:
    S8
    If you get a good apps2sd app it should tell you what apps are OK to move to the SD card.

    This post is Incredible 2!
     
  3. dasanman69

    dasanman69 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Avoid putting apps with a widget on the SD card.
     
  4. spatialfear

    spatialfear New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    That I have and correct it does let you know to an extent what can be moved to sd. Technically it lets me move all to sd but unless I play around and move apps in and out of sd card to phone and vice versa I will know what works or not. Hence my request for users that have gone thru this process already. If thats the case then I will have to do that but figured I'd ask to see whats up.

    If app is in phone it boots first before sd card loads correct? If so then thats the idea to which apps I need to have in phone. EX: can Titanium Backup be placed in SD to work properly? apps2sd says it can be moved and so can sd booster but sd booster does not work when placed in sd...try it and see what I mean. My Droid has been great thus far with the Newest Cyanogen. A couple tweaks n it'd be awesome. Any apps out there that you guys can suggest I add to me collection in regards to memory. I will also upgrade to the Paid Version of Titanium Backup to freeze n delete Bloat ware as well soon. Thanks for your replies and assistance. This Site ROCKS :hail:
     
  5. sherri

    sherri Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Ratings:
    +9
    Launchers should NOT be put on sd card. Widgets will not run from sd card, but the app associated with it will, like Shazam and Soundhound. I have them on sd card and don't use widgets.

    Same for all Media apps. They are fine on sd card. Social apps such as Facebook and Twitter (and Twitter apps such as Plume and Tweetcaster) all run fine from card, but no widgets. (If you like the scrolling updates, keep app on phone).

    Maps are fine on sd card. Games also. YouTube/Get Glue/Four Square all are fine from sd card. External SMS /mms apps (Hancent/Chomp....) are fine on sd card, as are mail apps (K9/Touchdown/Kaiten....)

    Even certain system apps are fine on sd card, provided you are rooted and can move them. I have Gmail and maps on the card.

    Dialers can work from the card. Some people (rooted) have removed the system dialer and contact apps and tried to force other dialers as system apps. This can be done with launchers, but NOT dialers. All dialers rely on info from "native" dialer to work.

    If you have questions, let us know! Hope some of this helped!

    Sent from my DROID using DroidForums
     
  6. spatialfear

    spatialfear New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks u have made it easier to tweak my cell....ty much...and I totally appreciate all input from all that posted here.
     
  7. zachdroid

    zachdroid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    If you use link2sd you can put them all on the sdcard and it functions like an extension of the phones memory. Search for "ultimate app 2 sd thread" or a variant thereof. GodfatherIP has s great write up there.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  8. Dr01_D

    Dr01_D New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    on the Seadoo in MD water
    Ratings:
    +0
    what about ROMmanager?

    phone or card?
     
  9. sherri

    sherri Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Ratings:
    +9
    Works fine from SD card.

    Sent from my DROID using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page

android move system apps to sd

,

my apps on sd card are not working anymore on android

,

what to do if i moved an android app with a widget ti sd car

,

will shazam work on sd card

,

will tweetcaster move to sd card