Official Swype Beta Testing

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by firefalldown, Mar 5, 2010.

  1. firefalldown
    Offline

    firefalldown New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey guys, didn't see a thread on this so I figured I'd let the word out, Swype is in its official beta and is accepting beta testers, just registered mine and downloaded and its pretty sweet! Hurry before it fills up or just download the apk below.

    Beta Sign Up Link

    Link Removed

    Dang it, looks like their putting copy protection on the new beta, just got a message telling me that my swype keyboard is configured for another device, looks like you'd be better off signing up with the beta
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2010
  2. Droidster163
    Offline

    Droidster163 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Whats the difference between this one and the one that has been out for download? Any new features?
  3. firefalldown
    Offline

    firefalldown New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just started trying it now, at first glance they've added a vibrate feature as well as a different color scheme for word suggestions
  4. SSHGuru
    Offline

    SSHGuru New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Thx for link
  5. SSHGuru
    Offline

    SSHGuru New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    You have to uninstall the old one to get this to work which I did.

    It's a more advanced version but it does have some annoying things - vibrate on touch can be turned off but the tap sound it makes when hitting one key cant.

    One of the options turns off the sound. Just found it - hold down the swype key to get options.
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2010
  6. CoyG
    Offline

    CoyG New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    is it worth it to switch? my swype gets a little buggy but its tolerable most if the time.
  7. R1Lover
    Offline

    R1Lover New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,702
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    My guess is this one will expire so it will keep it out of the hands of people that should not have it... if you remove the old one keep it... just in case. :)
  8. cystic
    Offline

    cystic New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is awesome.. We can finally have this.. legally
    I like the maw version already. Been using swype since day one and love it.
  9. vinnard
    Offline

    vinnard New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is great. So much better than the last version I was using
  10. sherylhs
    Offline

    sherylhs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SE, Michigan
    Thanks for the link. I have tried the other swype-type keyboards, but I always go back to the original.
  11. cystic
    Offline

    cystic New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Im guessing you peck at normal keyboards as well?
  12. Mr Steve
    Offline

    Mr Steve New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, Fla
    I'm assuming the 'installer' (that you have to run before you can install the legit version) will make it impossible to reload the old one. Add to that having to uninstall the leaked version and it makes it even more questionable.

    Then again, what do I know? I'm 'legit' now, and if worse comes to worse there are other options out there. And if it's all on the up-and-up I'm covered then, too.

    Time will tell. And, no, I didn't browse through the 'terms & conditions' of the installer.

    The 'legit' one is nice, though.
  13. sherylhs
    Offline

    sherylhs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SE, Michigan
    Not really sure I understand your comment / question. But I can tell you that my previous phone was a verizon voyager and the physical keyboard was much easier to use. Normally I am a pretty fast typist but I just can't get into the groove of the droids physical keyboard. I do use it once in a while, but not often.

    On the phone; once you swype, it's hard to go back.
    :D
  14. SSHGuru
    Offline

    SSHGuru New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    I installed swype on my wifes new android last week and just pulled it out to put the new version out and it said the old one had EXPIRED.

    I think they just went and expired all the old versions. Good thing I got the new one...
  15. nathan52789
    Offline

    nathan52789 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm not sure whats going on here but everytime I restart my phone I get an error message saying that swype package you installed is configured for another device and will operate with limited functionality. Help?
  16. firefalldown
    Offline

    firefalldown New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, lol i found that out too. You'd be better off uninstalling that and signing up for the beta. They've put some sort of copy protection on in with is probably why they use an installer to put it on your phone that makes the copy you get unique to your device.
  17. MikeAlphaBravo
    Offline

    MikeAlphaBravo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Installed the beta today. Definitely a more polished version then the leaked one I had been using!
  18. MontyMo
    Offline

    MontyMo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried Swipe a month ago and thought it was OK, but deleted it. I was just about as fast and more accurate with the screen keyboard. For the last week I have been using SlideIT. It too is OK. I deleted it two days ago.

    Yesterday a coworker told me to give Swipe another try, reluctantly I installed it.

    OMG! it is fabulous. I totally recommend it. Very accurate. Easy to add punctuation etc. If you are "on the fence" I recommend you give it a try. Have a look at the tutorials here:
    Swype | Text Input for Screens

    Monty
  19. wtabke
    Offline

    wtabke New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Same issue - Moto Droid running DroidMod1. Uninstalled the 'leaked beta' (worked great), registered on the Swype site for the 'real' beta, d/l & install - all seemed well.

    After a reboot, 'The Swype package you installed is configured for another device and will operate with limited functionality.'

    If you go back to the default Android Keyboard then back to Swype it seems to start working again - till next reboot.

    Bill
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2010
  20. Shawn2774
    Offline

    Shawn2774 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Upstate New York
    Just installed swype beta and it seems to be working well. Now I just need to get used to it. Thanks for the link.