[Official] R2-D2 [D2] Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2' started by DF Smod, Sep 30, 2010.

  1. zephyrjs

    zephyrjs New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have to say - the new font does bother me. Did you ever figure this out? I can't find anything to customize this and restore the original "r2d2" font that showed up on the clock when it was docked. Yeah, I'm really that anal-retentive that I want my phone's display to match the font on the dock. :) I just love this little guy....

    In case anyone is confused what I'm talking about, the phone used to look like this when it was docked:

    http://gizmodo.com/5629489/r2+d2-droid-2-comes-with-themed-dock

    And now the phone looks... ordinary, with a plain old sans-serif font for the clock. So sad!!
     
  2. jedifire11

    jedifire11 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Saw this on Android Central and haven't been able to try it yet, let me know if anyone gets it too work...
     
  3. peterdoctor

    peterdoctor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    The update failed for me again. What was the link on the site?

    Sent from my DROID R2-D2 using DroidForums
     
  4. jedifire11

    jedifire11 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here is the link to the thread, it wasn't a specific file to try...
    R2D2 Gingerbread is Out - Page 3 - Android Forums

    EDIT: The technique didn't work for me either...
     
  5. chasehammer

    chasehammer Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Franklin, TN
    Ratings:
    +1
    guys a user on xda posted this. its a stock backup of R2D2. Restore it in clockworkmod recovery and its totally stock again. Im downloading the update as i type this. Im having good feelings this time.

    Stock R2D2 Backup: Multiupload.com - upload your files to multiple file hosting sites!



    EDIT: This did not work, it flashed but still failed on OTA update
     
  6. Zottig

    Zottig New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yeah, I'd found that. It doesn't work. I almost wonder if it'd be easier to find an already updated GB rom and get a CW backup of that.


    Ben
     
  7. jjq224

    jjq224 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    This might be drastic, but has anyone tried Hard Resetting back to factory?

    https://motorola-global-portal.cust...ail/a_id/51160/~/droid-2---factory-data-reset

    I'm seriously considering it if I can't get this update. Damn thing just about killed my battery this morning downloading the update (for the umpteenth time) and, as usual, reset itself on failure at 4am ! ! ! :angry:

    Since nobody has been able to figure out a way around the update/root issue, can anyone tell me how to stop the OTA download until an answer is found?

    Thanks!
     
  8. peterdoctor

    peterdoctor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yes, that was one of the first things I tried. I even unrooted my phone, did a factory reset, and then tried the update. Same issue...it fails.
     
  9. chasehammer

    chasehammer Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Franklin, TN
    Ratings:
    +1
    wouldnt that just be the same as clearing data/cache from recovery?
     
  10. jjq224

    jjq224 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wasn't sure - that's why I asked. My assumption (and we all know what that word stands for) was that a Hard Reset would make the phone like it came out of the box - remove all of your installed software (including rooting) and replace all the original software. I guess I was wrong.

    I may still try it though - the reason being, all I've done to my phone is root it. I have not removed any of the bloatware, nor changed the rom in anyway. I simply did it to get wireless tether access. Not sure if that will make a difference.

    Anxiously waiting for an answer from the Droid Jedi Masters that I respect so much.

    Thanks for all the help guys.
     
  11. Zottig

    Zottig New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    The R2D2 phone didn't get a lot of love from the hackers. Many saw it as a joke and more still just figured you'd root it and make it a regular D2 and maybe pepper some of the Star Wars bits back on... though most saw all that as bloat.

    The issue seems to be the logwrapper file isn't checking out. Rooting messes with it and I don't know as replacing the original is enough. At least so far I keep getting an assert error on that file.


    Ben
     
  12. peterdoctor

    peterdoctor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    The first time I did a factory reset, it did not remove the root files. I had to manually unroot the phone to remove the root files, and then do the factory reset before it returned to the out of the box state. However, while rooted, I did remove some bloatware (blockbuster & nfs apps) which I no longer have a backup, so that could be something the update is looking for and the reason for failure. But that's just a guess.
     
  13. jjq224

    jjq224 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mind if I ask how you unrooted. I don't remember exactly how I rooted it (that was a year ago) and I'm not sure if the "One-Click" unroot I found here will work: [APP]SuperOneClick v2.1.1 (Finally fixed!) - xda-developers

    Thanks!
     
  14. peterdoctor

    peterdoctor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
  15. jedifire11

    jedifire11 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think this is our only hope atm, anyone able to oblige?

    Sent from my R2D2 using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page
boyfriend hiding apps on android
,
droid r2d2 overheating
,
droid r2d2 restarting 2013
,
office space fax machine
,
r2d2 digitizer issues
,
r2d2 motorola open case screw
,
r2d2 phone glitching really bad. does the wifi updates fix t
,

r2d2 shell

,

r2d2 wallpaper

,
soa wallpaper