****Official FroYo Rollout Thread-Version2!****

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by alphawave7, Aug 11, 2010.

  1. nod2mybeats

    nod2mybeats New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Weatherbug and Froyo aren't getting along. Everytime it kills weatherbug, the temperature, at the time it was killed, stays in the notification panel irremovably. It's not a huge deal but it's really annoying. Any fix?

    Also I've noticed that since froyo, the internet "restores" windows even after being killed but my Mem counts are noticeably lower whenever I task kill.
     
  2. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,082
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +448
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Bugless Beast V4 is getting hit with update notices. You are far from the first person, and not the first in this thread, to make this observation. It's built on old code. V5 will be available "soon".

    The only option, since some people who installed the fix for this issue that Pete put out on his subforum have reported it didn't work, is to let SPRecovery or CW Recovery run block when it tries to intall.
     
  3. xxwake4lifexx

    xxwake4lifexx New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is anyone else still receiving the OTA? I'm pretty sure I'm not trying to install a rooted ROM. I just download the 2.2 update file, make sure its named 'update.zip,' and place it onto the root of the SD card. Boot and go to apply update.zip.

    EDIT: 1:37am got the update. About time.
     
  4. droidgreg

    droidgreg New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Finally got the update Wednesday night! So far everything is fine. Maybe this has already been talked about but did anyone one notice (who is still stock) that the max clock speed is now 600Mhz, not 550Mhz...or am I losing it and it has always been that way?
     
  5. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,491
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    Nope, I noticed the maximum clock speed is now 800 mhz.

    That's using a standard kernel, on a rooted Droid and viewing it on SetCPU.

    When I put a custom kernel in there I can go faster. But from what my observation is it's a lot faster then just 600 mhz. :)
     
  6. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,491
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    I'm a little confused by this statement. SPRecovery will block the update and keep it from coming back. Are you saying that this is happening only to BB? Because everywhere else SPRecovery is blocking the update as indicated.
     
  7. droidgreg

    droidgreg New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    I just noticed when I first ran Linpack this morning it saved my last run as "600MHz..." and my previous (pre-update) was at "550MHz..."

    Then I loaded Android System Info, and it show the Current Frequency as 600Mhz, and the Freq range as 125-800Mhz. When viewing the CPU clock in System Panel, the max freq is at 600MHz...I need to go a little faster! lol

    If you dont mind me asking, what did you use to get the stock kernel, rooted so you can use SetCPU? I would like to experiment with a stock kernel and overclocking sometime without risk of ruining my droid!
     
  8. markwebb

    markwebb Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    829
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    CT
    Ratings:
    +27
    VT: while changing ROM's, I received the Froyo 2.2 45 Mb OTA Verizon notification @ 10 AM today, Saturday.
    I will allow and install then let SPRecovery block it.
     
  9. lennywc

    lennywc Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    No froyo ota sarasota fl.

    I live in florida sarasota area , no froyo update received . Is verizon still updating ? If not, why did i not get the update? ( Sat 8th august)
     
  10. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,491
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    If you are running 2.1 still, the update will get to you eventually. Your alternative and actually the better way to install without errors is to install the update we have available. You'll find it in the News area the Froyo Circus thread page 1.
     
  11. DroidFan

    DroidFan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I learned the hard way this week NOT to ever use anything but the OTA again... LOL

    I did the manual non-rooted update and it crashed my phone. After 2 hours of reboots and master resets, nothing helped. I called VZW and they sent me to a corporate store. They tried to override the system and it crashed on them as well. They sent me a refurb and told me the refurb would already have 2.2 on it... WRONG! Another bricked phone. Called tech support... they walked me through a gazillion steps...

    What we ended up finding out that my original phone was fine... the manual update though somehow corrupted my microSD card and it caused all the freezes and uselessness. I went to VZW and they replaced my SD card... all is well again!

    I'll stick with the OTA updates from here on out... I'm pretty technically savvy, but this was more time than I was willing to spend on an update overall... :)
     
  12. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,491
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    I disagree, I think doing a manual update is safer then something that is coming in from over the air. I see much more people with problems with OTA updates.

    Truth is both methods are pretty safe, and the vast majority of people won't have an issue either way. I'd rather be the one controlling what goes in my Droid however then to just take a chance on something coming in from the sky.
     
Search tags for this page
bajar firmware playtab junior
,
descargar firmware para playtab junior 3
,

firmware playtab junior

,
hard reset playtab 3 junior
,
my wifi says authenicating and then disconnects
,
palytab junior os update
,

playtab 3 jr firmware

,
playtab 4 junior firmware
,
playtab junior bootloop
,

playtab junior firmware