Official CWM by Koush

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Hacks' started by logan5, Sep 24, 2011.

  1. logan5
    Offline

    logan5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Koush just added official support for CWM. Chatter on XDA....
    MUST UNINSTALL PREVIOUS HASHCODE'S CWM BEFORE USING!
    MUST UNINSTALL PREVIOUS HASHCODE'S CWM BEFORE USING!
    Apparently you can only reboot into CWM using the app. No obvious way to boot into CWM from power-off.

    http://t.co/IM110WZ3 (thanks somemadcaaant)
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2011
  2. Tillyswilly
    Offline

    Tillyswilly Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Bham
    Ratings:
    +0
    beat me to it lol
  3. i4mt3hwin
    Offline

    i4mt3hwin Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Kind of defeats the point when you can't boot into the recovery without using the app, doesn't it?
  4. logan5
    Offline

    logan5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    But it has full ROM flashing capabilities and all other wipe options are working.
  5. i4mt3hwin
    Offline

    i4mt3hwin Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I guess that's nice but if you flash something that doesn't work you're looking at a full fastboot restore. I'd rather have the ability to restore than to flash new ROMS.
  6. somemadcaaant
    Offline

    somemadcaaant New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm sure the boot button option will come in time.

    -smc
  7. logan5
    Offline

    logan5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Koush said the hack was designed to automatically go into recovery in case of bootloop. Hashcode said he was currently working on a way to get into Koush's recovery using bptools.
    I would really like a foolproof way for recovery.... (don't we all! :) )
  8. aggiechase37
    Offline

    aggiechase37 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can't we make nandroids to get into if something happens with this? Not that there are any ROM's to flash yet anyway...
  9. Bullitt6996
    Offline

    Bullitt6996 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lameville, USA
    Ratings:
    +2
    Oops, ran it before i ditched the first one....uninstalled and backing up using the new one...we'll see:blink:
  10. Bullitt6996
    Offline

    Bullitt6996 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lameville, USA
    Ratings:
    +2
    Just Got Rom manager up and running...was nice to see the D3 under flash recovery. YES!!!!
  11. MotoDroid775
    Offline

    MotoDroid775 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Northern Nevada
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK quick question. So I've uninstalled Hashcodes bootstrap. Even replaced bloatedware using PSouza's scripts. Thanks Guys for what you do for us. So here is where I'm questioning. I've downloaded Koushs Bootstrap for the Droid3. I now have the options of bootstrap recovery and reboot recovery. What do I do? Bootstrap Recovery? And Then down load Rom Manager to install the actual recovery? Thanks for your help. You all are great...

    Sent from my Xoom using DroidForums
  12. ndoren
    Offline

    ndoren Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Neither. You can't get to Koush's recovery from either bootloader or reboot recovery. If we could, that would solve the whole problem of not getting to CWM from a powered-down state. I know they are working on solutions (manual entry from power-up or a bootloop resolver). For now, you can only do it from Koush's "Droid 3 Bootstrapper" program (apk), or directly from Rom Manager. That means you have to have a bootable phone to get to CWM, where you can create a bootable phone :).

    I wish the nandroid backups from Rom Manager would store to the external SD.. they appear to only go to the internal. I know I can transfer from one to the other but directly choosing destination would be nice. Neall
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2011
  13. MotoDroid775
    Offline

    MotoDroid775 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Northern Nevada
    Ratings:
    +0
    So how do I flash ClockworkMod Recovery? Via Rom Manager?

    Sent from my Xoom using DroidForums
  14. ndoren
    Offline

    ndoren Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Go to the market and install the "Droid 3 recovery bootstrap" by clockwordmod. Install, open it, and press "bootstrap recovery." Of course, probably goes without saying that you need to be rooted.

    MAKE SURE YOU HAVE UNINSTALLED HASHCODE's recovery first, if in fact you had installed that previously. You may be rewarded with a soft brick otherwise.

    You can then get to the CWM recovery by going into the same app and pressing 'reboot recovery."

    Afterwards, from within Rom Manager, I selected the top option ""Flash ClockworkMod Recovery." I then selected "Droid 3" and let 'er rip. Thus, I can get to CWM recovery from either the Droid 3 recovery bootstrap program, or from within Rom Manager. I haven't tried to restore a nandroid backup yet from Rom Manager, but they seem to be generated just fine via its "Backup Current Rom" option.

    Neall
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2011
  15. MotoDroid775
    Offline

    MotoDroid775 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Northern Nevada
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ndoren...thanks for your help...worked perfectly!!!

    Sent from my Xoom using DroidForums
Search tags for this page
cwm droid 3
,
droid 3 cwm
,
droid3 cwm
,
installing cwm on droid 3
,
koush bootstrap droid 3
,
koush bootstrap droid x2
,

koush droid 3 bootstrap

,

koush's droid 3 bootstrap

,

koush's droid 3 bootstrap app

,
koush's droid 3 bootstrap app to install cwm recovery