Official App2SD support for CyanogenMod via ROM Manager

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by koush, Mar 30, 2010.

  1. koush

    koush Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The new ROM Manager now support SD card partitioning. You will also need to flash one of bekit's V0.8 kernels.

    Installation process:

    Start up ROM Manager.
    Flash the newest recovery if there is an update..
    # =====The next couple steps will not be necessary soon.=====
    Make sure you have Developer mode on.
    Go to the CyanogenMod download section.
    Install one of bekit's V0.8 kernel. Choose "Stock" if you are unsure which to pick.
    After the phone reboots, start up ROM Manager again.
    #=====end of soon to be removed steps.=====
    Choose Partition SD card.
    Choose your ext and swap size (or choose the defaults if you are unsure).
    Continue installation.

    After the phone reboots, go into Settings -> Applications.
    Enable Apps2SD.


    Note: Nandroid in ClockworkMod recovery does not support ext backup yet. Coming shortly.
     
  2. sneaky_zekey

    sneaky_zekey Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    you rock koush,thank you for everything you have done,im so glad i donated/bought your apps
     
  3. KingTee

    KingTee Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    You and Cyanogen are thee men!!!! I remember when Cyanogen was just getting started on the G-1. I used to run the first ROM that he ever put out. His and TheDude were the only Roms that i used it's really amazing to see how far that this has developed from the lowly G-1 till now.
     
  4. DroidxRage

    DroidxRage Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New England - Home of Champions
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow, you're a beast Koush!!

    People should note they should BACKUP YOUR ENTIRE SD CARD before you do this, as you'll lose it. But ROM Manager warns you of that. ;-)
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2010
  5. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas DF Super Moderator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5,415
    Likes Received:
    1,050
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +1,142
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Oh happy day! Might be time for me to bounce back on over to Cyanogen...

    For reference of the Rescue Squad, if someone were to enable apps2sd on Cyanogen and then decide they want to try another rom, does anything special need to be done before they flash?

    I could see some potential problems but I figure you know more about it than we do!

    Thanks again for all of your hard work!
     
  6. DroidxRage

    DroidxRage Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New England - Home of Champions
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would think you're probably left with the partition for apps2sd, and whatever kernel you load that isn't bekit's probably won't interface correctly with the partition, so it just won't read there, effectively disabling Apps2SD and leaving the partition.

    Just a hunch though, Koush can confirm or refute with his infinite wisdom. :)
     
  7. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas DF Super Moderator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5,415
    Likes Received:
    1,050
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +1,142
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Makes sense!

    Can the partition be easily deleted though to free up space? Sbf I'm assuming the apps put on the sd will need to be reinstalled to function?
     
  8. DroidxRage

    DroidxRage Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New England - Home of Champions
    Ratings:
    +0
    If my prior assumption is true, I would assume it's just as easy as mounting the SD card and deleting that apps2sd folder, and I would think you would certainly need to reinstall the apps locally for them to function correctly again.

    The only hitch I could see is market implications, where the market thinks you have the app because it was loaded on the SD card, but you've since deleted the partition. Dunno how the market handles this aspect, so that'd be my only concern if any. Although this may not even be an issue, and could also be avoided by simply uninstalling any apps you had on the SD manually if it were the case.

    Of course Koush will be able to clarify, this is all merely hypothesizing at this point. :)
     
  9. tdog7879

    tdog7879 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    has anyone tried this?...Does it work with the stock sd card?...Thanks
     
  10. Tatootie

    Tatootie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok . I have just finished doing this.
    Warning - the sd card will be completely erased! It warns you before you partition...
    What I did was copied my entire sd card to pc first.
    Once I partiioned, sure enough - card was emptied.
    I then quicly re-backed up my rom because all backups are in fact gone!
    Once apps2sd is enabled, when you go through your applications, you now see a "move" command available. When you click move, it moves the app to the sd card.
    Everything seems to be working correctly.
    Another thing I noticed is that you cannot view the apps through mounting, or astro, so you really cant verify that the apps are on the sd card. Probably because its partitioned. Maybe theres another file explorer that would allow this?
    I am also noticing a fair amount of ram missing now. Not sure if it has something to do with that "Swap ram " option..
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2010
  11. alienware777

    alienware777 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Of course it erases the card! Whenever you partition something it does. It needs the first part of the sd card to use, but stuff is on that already. Therefore it must erase it.

    Have you tried using root explorer to find them? It probably won't work but ya never know.

    About the ram though... only thing I can think is it takes more to load it off the sd card...
     
  12. DroidxRage

    DroidxRage Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New England - Home of Champions
    Ratings:
    +0
    Memory Usage Plus gives you a good detailed view of what's using RAM
     
  13. thebowers

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1
    I see by looking at the apps under manage apps it says where they are stored (as in internel, sdcard). Where are you getting the move function?

    Koush is there an app in store to view this partion? Can it be viewed through terminal at all?
     
  14. ThePravus

    ThePravus Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know that a Class6 card is recommended for this. Has anyone tried the Class10 16GB card from Kingston? Would it make that much of a difference to justify the $95 dollar price tag?
     
  15. bL33d

    bL33d Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    illinois
    Ratings:
    +0
    what is the benefits of doing this? Performance due to more available ram?
     
Search tags for this page
app2sd cyanogen
,
app2sd cyanogenmod
,
app2sd cyanogenmod 10
,
app2sd cyanogenmod 10.1
,
app2sd cyanogenmod 10.2
,
app2sd rom manager
,
cm 10.1 app2sd
,
cyanogen app2sd
,
cyanogenmod 10.1 app2sd
,

cyanogenmod app2sd