OFFICAL OTA .zip Installation Guide Droid Razr & Razr Maxx

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by rda990, Jun 23, 2012.

  1. rda990

    rda990 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Location:
    Germantown,MD
    Ratings:
    +2
    I would suggest just waiting for OTA or until you have a computer handy, what if you get a soft brick right now trying to do this and you have no computer available :icon_eek: If you're planning to do this also charge up to 100% battery.
     
  2. jscgs350

    jscgs350 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    That worked, thanks!

    - JC
     
  3. smmfc

    smmfc Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Even set to download to extsd it'll put it in a folder named download but if you spook easy if also just wait till ota I was one of the first in the thread to successfully install this its worth it if you don't run into to many problems installing it its around the corner cus this is a solid build.
     
  4. JohnDough

    JohnDough New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    BWAH-HA-HA! The deed is done! ICS from sideload is done!
    I read the posts, I wondered, I gleaned. Have it unplugged. OK. Tried that. ALMOST finished: got to patching boot image, then failed, status 0. BUT I remembered seth7garcia's post, #390 (OK, I had to look it up). I did that. After 2 tries (nothing much else I could have done at that point) it Fully Installed and All Is Well! Thanks all. And now to see what works, and what doesn't. Yippee!
     
  5. jawbreaker1222

    jawbreaker1222 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    had the same problem with the home in the search to use to fix it I had to do a system restore and then reinstall the I c s update
     
  6. RedRamage

    RedRamage New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Widget names not showing up...

    So I had some issues side loading, but finally got it to work. Unfortunately had to do a factory reset along the way, but I'm up and running, re-installing apps and rebuilding my home screen.

    One issue though: When I go to add a widget, the NAME of the widget is now showing up in the list. I see the icon, but the name area is blank. Now, if I tap on one, the name shows up while I'm holding it, so I can get by, but obviously this isn't ideal. Anyone else run into this? Anyone have a solution?
     
    #642 RedRamage, Jun 25, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2012
  7. Scott0719

    Scott0719 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    So I just realized I don't have 4G serivice and called Verizon. He ran through the steps turning it off and on turning certain features off and on. Then he askes for an IMEI number and it says unknown. He said thats like the serial number. Saturday I tried doing this manual update and it didn't work so I used matts utility 1.7 to restore it back to gingerbread. Could doing that effect my 4G and or this IMEI number? I'm just nervous about voiding a warranty or anything. I didn't tell verzion that I tried doing this update.....now the guy just called a local store and they said that none of their 4G phones have 4G singal's. So I guess it isn't just me. either way though, could doing what I did effect either my 4G or the IMEI number?
     
  8. obxrmc

    obxrmc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't find the root/cache folder

    I can't find the root/cache folder
     
  9. Umainebearman

    Umainebearman New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Savannah GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not sure why but I guess I'm gonna try this out. guess its because a boring rainy day here in Savannah and I just don't have enough stress in my life. hopefully it works without it bricking.
     
  10. jaydoubledub

    jaydoubledub Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is anyone having issues with the download link not working?
     
  11. Umainebearman

    Umainebearman New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Savannah GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I guess the warning here should be "This WILL brick your device. You WILL need to recover it". I'll give it another go if the recovery works properly. It looked good untill it stuck at the dual core screen.
     
  12. RazrSlim

    RazrSlim Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I decided to try the update bc I'm impatient. Anyways i forgot to clear cache and failed. So after the failed attempt i clear cache and did a system restore wipe clean and reboot. Turned on and got stuck on red moto sign. Powered off went into restore again cleared cache twice then tried the update again. Now running flawlessly.
     
Search tags for this page
android vaultservice folder
,
blur version.6.12.181.xt912.verizon.en.us
,

blur version.6.12.181.xt912.verizon.en.us.zip

,
bp tools droid razr
,

droid razr ics update download

,
droid razr ota download
,

ics for droid razr download

,
rda990 forums droidforums ics installation guide blur version 181 xt912 verizon
,
xt909 firmware free download
,
xt91277test