OFFICAL OTA .zip Installation Guide Droid Razr & Razr Maxx

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by rda990, Jun 23, 2012.

  1. rda990

    rda990 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Location:
    Germantown,MD
    Ratings:
    +2
    No, check the market for VooDoo Root Keeper, since you have root, save it with that app. Once saved click "Temp. unroot" and you won't be rooted anymore. Once you're on ICS open the app back up and click "root" and will restore root with no problems. PLEASE make sure you uninstall safestrap or bootstrap if you currently have it, and i don't mean just uninstall the app, go into the app and uninstall Boot/Safestrap, THEN uninstall the app.
     
  2. rda990

    rda990 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Location:
    Germantown,MD
    Ratings:
    +2
    Glad it worked for you! =D This will the new method from now on.
     
  3. rda990

    rda990 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Location:
    Germantown,MD
    Ratings:
    +2
    I haven't updated the OP at all yet, im not even home and won't be able to update it with the new method until late tonight. I've been writing all this on my Razr all along, so its pretty hard lol
     
  4. bjmoore30

    bjmoore30 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    while doing the install of the update, did anyone else notice a line that reads -

    Deleting facebook cache folder ...
     
  5. rda990

    rda990 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Location:
    Germantown,MD
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yup, that's i think the only real/visible different with .210 and .211, .211 clears the facebook cache while updating.
     
  6. Revans310

    Revans310 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm at the Dual Core screen and it's been 30min how long does it take?
     
  7. rda990

    rda990 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Location:
    Germantown,MD
    Ratings:
    +2
    Go into recovery right now and update again! It'll work, If you cant get into recovery its soft bricked.
     
  8. Scott0719

    Scott0719 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    I think i'll try it again. So since I put GB back on do I have to do it two more times now? Also, if it works will it erase all my apps and info? Counting the failed attempt with this today this is the second time I factory reset my phone in two days. I don't feel like doing that again lol.
     
  9. rda990

    rda990 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Location:
    Germantown,MD
    Ratings:
    +2
    Just clearing it once will be fine, then just install. Updating to ICS this way wont delete apps or any info.
     
  10. JDunc

    JDunc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1
    My lack of success so far: Fastboot back to stock. Take the 3 OTAs then attempt installing. Installing went well and then error (0). I was stuck on the Motorola screen and did the Matt Utility option 1. Now I reboot to recovery and it's different (I assume ICS recovery). I wipe on.ce try install it verifies it, then starts to install but immediately gets error (7). I reboot and try to get to recovery again but it seems to just put me in AP Fastboot Flash mode every time I try again. So, I'm doing Matt's utility again. Any suggestions on what I'm doing wrong? I guess the newer recovery is a good sign, I just wish I could get it to install all the way.

    Immediately after going to Recovery from Matt's Utility I guess these errors:

    E: Can't mount /cache/recovery/command qe 0/1
    E: Can't mount /cache/recovery/caller
    E: Can't mount /cache/recovery/log
    E: Can't open /cache/recovery/log
    E: Can't mount /cache/recovery/last_log
    E: Can't open /cache/recovery/last_log
    E: Can't mount /cache/recovery/last_install
    E: Can't open /cache/recovery/last_install
     
    #226 JDunc, Jun 23, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2012
  11. Scott0719

    Scott0719 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Just clearing what? The cache? If it doesn't work when exactly should I start the second try? If I don't get past the red M or before that?
     
  12. Revans310

    Revans310 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep soft bricked can anyone help...Thanks

    It's stuck at the Dual Core screen
     
Search tags for this page
android vaultservice folder
,
blur version.6.12.181.xt912.verizon.en.us
,

blur version.6.12.181.xt912.verizon.en.us.zip

,
bp tools droid razr
,

droid razr ics update download

,
droid razr ota download
,

ics for droid razr download

,
rda990 forums droidforums ics installation guide blur version 181 xt912 verizon
,
xt909 firmware free download
,
xt91277test