Nvidia Road-Map Leak Indicates Tegra 3 will be a 1.5GHz Quad-Core Chip!

Discussion in 'Android News' started by dgstorm, Jan 24, 2011.

  1. dgstorm
    Offline

    dgstorm Editor in Chief Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    7,110
    Likes Received:
    1,315
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    [​IMG]

    Our sister-site at Android.net just posted some pretty incredible news regarding the Nvidia Tegra 3 chip that is set to be showcased at Mobile World Congress next month. Previous speculation in the industry indicated the Tegra 3 might be an 'enhanced' dual-core chip, with the Tegra 4 coming about a year later sporting quad-core technology. Apparently, Nvidia has been busy, and they want to shower us with techno-affection; the above leaked road-map pic from Nvidia indicates that the Tegra 3, which is scheduled to start shipping to phone manufacturers in the fall of 2011, is actually a 1.5GHz quad-core CPU! What can be said? Simply. Incredible. Here are some of the Tegra 3 details:
    • Quad 1.5 GHz cores
    • 3x faster graphics
    • Ultra low power CPU mode
    • Support for Blu-ray video
    • Display resolutions up to 1920×1200
    As you can see in the pic, Tegra 3 churns through data at about 13800 MIPS. That's 3x faster than Tegra 2!

    If Nvidia can hold this pace, then the Tegra 4 could be simply ridiculous. It looks like this year and 2012 will be exciting years for Android phones!

    Source: Android.net
  2. thorton02
    Offline

    thorton02 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arlington
    What the hell? I'm still sporting a freaking Samsung Omnia because I keep waiting to upgrade to the next generation and just before I do, something like this comes out.

    Seriously, what's next? They've caught up to the desktop in 2 years. I don't even have a quad core in my home computer yet.
  3. 252chevyboyz
    Offline

    252chevyboyz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,031
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I'm rockin my D2 and very pleased but can't believe quad core is comin out only got a dual in my home computer. The generation of tegra technology is gonna be a huge leap in phones i believe. Plus thats gonna be a 6GHz core if you combine all 4 processors! I would love to get my hands on this phone or be even luckier and be the one to test it out haha. I am thinkin the price is gonna be high tho. Its beggining to be shocking what these companies can fit in such a little device. Keep up the good work whoever is devloping Tegra technology
  4. gmorgan056
    Offline

    gmorgan056 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    This is just getting crazy with all this...simply amazing!!
  5. New2u
    Offline

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,630
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    The specs quoted are for the tablet version of the chipset, not the phone version. As it shows they aren't 100% sure if the phone version is dual or quad yet.

    Read the bottom values only for phones.
  6. huskerkate
    Offline

    huskerkate Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,659
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    that's just sick!! even if the phone chips are only dual core, a 2 x 1.5 ghz will smoke! looks like i won't be jumping at the Bionic just yet... :)
  7. s13_slider
    Offline

    s13_slider New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    I see less and less point in upgrading to have a "state of the art" phone when it is outdone before it comes out.
  8. Larry_ThaGr81
    Offline

    Larry_ThaGr81 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hesperia
    Things are shaping up to be very interesting over the next few years. I guess I may have to go ahead and get a Tegra 2 in July, so that my next upgrade can be a Tegra 4.
  9. New2u
    Offline

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,630
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    If you going to wait for that, then you might as well wait for the new technology you hear about when your about to buy one with a tegra 3, at this point waiting for the latest and greatest will never happen, as soon as one is about to come out, one with double power will only be months away from that, and so on and so forth.
  10. New2u
    Offline

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,630
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    You are exactly right. And truth be told, it doesn't seem like there's much difference between tegra 2 and tegra 2.5 either.
  11. jroc
    Offline

    jroc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,837
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Washington DC
    I'm so sorry to hear that...you have my condolences....

    But yea, we cant wait for the next best cuz you will be waiting forever. Me, I will be at 1 year into a 2 year contract in April of this year. With my next phone it will be 1 year contracts from now on.

    And to think when the Fascinate came out is when I started regretting having a 2 year contract...lol
  12. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,070
    Likes Received:
    706
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Bionic or wait? Its good to have choices and truth be told buying a Tegra 2 device would be a great buy but theres always that feeling of "wait just a bit longer" I'm somewhere in between right now.

    Droid--->ether--->this thread
  13. xdxdaustinxdxd
    Offline

    xdxdaustinxdxd New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    1 Remember, you will definitly be able to OC your bionic to 1.5 ghz
    2 Tegra 3 isn't going into production until Q4 not counting the time it will take to plan and test a device (they don't do this until the silicon has actualy gone into production) which brings up to about mid Q2 2012. Thats almost a year and 1/2 away if your being speedy and by then, you'll only be 2 months away from your next upgrade. Don't worry, your covered.
  14. sansavi
    Offline

    sansavi New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    new jersey
    im still a bit shaky with BL and overclocking... i was under the impression that with a locked bootloader you wouldnt be able to flash a custom kernel, and therefore wouldnt be able to overclock?
  15. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,070
    Likes Received:
    706
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I'm really not concerned with OC'ing these chips to be perfectly honest. I think they will be plenty fast enough. OC'ing one of these chips is like strapping a rocket to my car when all of my driving is in the city : )

    My biggest "concern" right now is that there is another Moto device (unannounced) that is supposedly going to be running stock android and with Moto's retraction of the bootloader there is a slight possibility this device may be unlocked. Longshot yes. Possibility? You bet.....
  16. czerdrill
    Offline

    czerdrill New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,828
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the best question is what's the battery life going to be on these? dual 1.5s?? that seems like overkill for a phone...hopefully they find a way to keep everything running efficiently. like CK said, i doubt any overclocking has to be done on phones like this, they'll be fast all by themselves.
  17. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,070
    Likes Received:
    706
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Just read some disheartening news about the Bionic by the way:

    If your really posting from a bionic I feel so sorry for you.that piece of crap is so far from usable in any way shape or form.I bet that if it even makes it to shelves it will be through a bribe.the Etna and its twin for att both have a major unfixable flaw that will plaque it forever.too bad as I like it's concept.its basically a ggalaxyS with motos XOOMs guts.almost exact!.I been using them as door stops since they are far from ready to be used daily.too bad I couldn't hand them out as hockey pucks.

    If it was given the proper dev time then I would feel differently.but knowing it'll be rushed makes it a pass and wait for the droid X refresh or the Droid3.good luck with that sig of yours.
  18. kodiak799
    Offline

    kodiak799 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,830
    Likes Received:
    226
    Trophy Points:
    63
    My quad core laptop runs at, I think 1.6ghz (turbo boost to like 2.2, but not with all 4 running)...And it's hotter than hell. I just wonder how they handle the heat in these phones putting those kind of processors in.

    Put enough ram with that chip and you have a phone truly capable of replacing a tablet and/or desktop, although the OS would still have to catch-up.

    Anyway, this just validates the need to pay the little extra $$$ to get on a 1-yr contract.
  19. paintballer9876
    Offline

    paintballer9876 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Chances are it will be heavily under clocked to keep the heat down, so if it says 1.5ghz then it may be a max clock with proper cooling of say 2.5-3ghz.

    I can see it in a few years a large 24" monitor hooked up to this phone via hdmi and playing some type of game like cod or battlefield 2
  20. sb1831
    Offline

    sb1831 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Time to start buying my handsets outright from VZW... Only makes sense with the level of progression thats going on.