Now that I have Root

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Hacks' started by ck3jr, Sep 15, 2012.

  1. ck3jr
    Offline

    ck3jr New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Honea Path, South Carolina
    what would be safe to do next, Rom? Or just keep it the way it is and just have root?
  2. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    Most anything is safe depending on how much experience and EXPERTISE you have with Android devices. Most inexperienced users get into trouble trying to flash ROMs because they don't understand the process, the software or how to recover if and when something just didn't work right. If you'really new to hacking then take your time and research thoroughly. Root is easy, and safe. Everything else is much more risky for the inexperienced.
  3. ck3jr
    Offline

    ck3jr New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Honea Path, South Carolina
    K. I have rooted before and flashed roms to some of my droid but been out of the game for a while and didnt know if everybody was still flashing oe leaving the phones with Blur on them just with root.
  4. Phreaker47
    Offline

    Phreaker47 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I've avoided ROMS on the RAZR up to this point because most of them still have issues like a non working FF camera (not that I even use it, but still)...

    And I'm perfectly happy with a rooted stock ROM. There's nothing I want to do that I can't do.
  5. ck3jr
    Offline

    ck3jr New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Honea Path, South Carolina
    True
  6. DroidRazrKid
    Offline

    DroidRazrKid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    make sure u install recovery
  7. ck3jr
    Offline

    ck3jr New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Honea Path, South Carolina
    What is recovery? Never installed that. If I leave it with stock os do I meed recovery?
  8. DroidRazrKid
    Offline

    DroidRazrKid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    for certain things yes
  9. ck3jr
    Offline

    ck3jr New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Honea Path, South Carolina
    Can you show me where that part of the forums are at and how to do that?
  10. DroidRazrKid
    Offline

    DroidRazrKid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    easy wat version is your phone on?
  11. ck3jr
    Offline

    ck3jr New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Honea Path, South Carolina
    4.0.4
  12. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    ck3jr, what is it that you are thinking of doing? If all you want to do is freeze apps and run some apps that require root then you probably don't need to install ClockWorkMod(recovery). To do so would mean installing something like Safestrap or Bootstrap. There is certainly nothing wrong with having either one of these (but not both) on your phone. If you are not flashing ROMs (or even if you are), I highly recommend Titanium Backup Pro. It is one of the most "must have" apps for root users and flashers. The other "must have" is DroidRazrUtility 1.81, which you are already familiar with I guess. As long as you can get into Fastboot mode you can always restore your phone back to stock .211 with this utility if something goes wrong.

    I too have stayed away from ROMs primarily since most of the ROMs available always seem to have something that does not work...camera, data, motocast, eats battery, some apps don't work or something. If you decide to try out a different ROM then Safestrap or Bootstrap is a must. Make sure you follow the developers install instructions to a "T" to include which method to use to install, Safestrap or Bootstrap. Hope this is not to confusing.
  13. ck3jr
    Offline

    ck3jr New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Honea Path, South Carolina
    Maybe I need to stay away from the roms for now and yeah I remember when I use to put roms on my phone there was always a issue with them. I have cwr on my phone but I have not change anything in it. Big thing is uninstalling apps and freezing them to save battery life and memory. What are some apps that require root?

    Thx
  14. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    Just remember...do not delete or uninstall an app that you needed root to uninstall. When it comes time for an official OTA update, it will check to see if those apps are present...if they're not the update will fail. If you uninstall an app without root, and there are a few that came with the phone that you could delete without root, then you're alright. There're quite a few apps that require root...many of them are file manager and rom manager type apps. Some apps like Apex launcher have additional features that require root. Juice Defender is another good example. The easiest way to find apps that require root is to search the Play Store for "rooted apps".
  15. ck3jr
    Offline

    ck3jr New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Honea Path, South Carolina
    Wished I knew that, already took some out.
  16. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    Which ones did you delete? When the next OTA update comes out you can use the DroidUtility to restore back to stock. 211. ZI believe the restore will restore those apps.
  17. ck3jr
    Offline

    ck3jr New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Honea Path, South Carolina
    The verion apps one the verizon video and 1 more. Not sure of the name of it.
  18. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    Don't be concerned about restoring back to stock. 211 when you have to. Take the update and re-root. You'll have to download your apps again, but you'll have a fresh OS/system build.

    You can also see if someone can provide you the APK for the apps you uninstalled. Just a friendly reminder...NEVER DELETE...freeze, move or rename...never uninstall/delete.
  19. ck3jr
    Offline

    ck3jr New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Honea Path, South Carolina
    When will the new update be out?
  20. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    Not sure. ICS has been out for about 4 months now. I suspect, if Moto follows their usual schedule, an update should be coming out within the next month or so. But, you never know. The ICS release (.211) that we have now may not be updated at all...but that is unusual.
Search tags for this page

how to delete verizon motocast root

,

uninstall motocast droid 4 root