NOW CONFIRMED:ALL MOTO OTAs are FORCED, NO OPT OUT!!

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by robssm, May 12, 2012.

  1. robssm
    Offline

    robssm New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just spoke to a rep inside Verizon where it was confirmed that Motorola OTAs are forced to users now, there is no OPT OUT.

    Some of my inside info @ Motorola also has heard that it was going to go this way, but did not give any concrete yes/no.

    You get to pick to postpone it, but, after the third postpone it will go OTA at the next opportunity without user input.. Hopefully you weren't using the Droid for anything critical when it happens, like, oh, 911 because you are being assaulted, raped, or witnessing terrorists are wheeling in the nuke and smacking it with a hammer (like the underwear bomb guy with a lighter lol. It don't work like that foo!)

    This is a BIG DEAL and I implore you to call Motorola Tech Support to ask them to STOP THIS PRACTICE.

    1(800)734-5870. Open a case and ask them to STOP FORCED OTAs.
     
  2. Byakushiki
    Offline

    Byakushiki Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    859
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Usea
    Ratings:
    +3
    Just freeze updater and whatever other Blur services related to system updates. You'll never see the annoying update pop-up again. :)
     
  3. cobravnm13
    Online

    cobravnm13 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Alabama
    Ratings:
    +34
    So much for a free country.

    Sent from my 3rd reincarnation of the ever-so-lovable Droid
     
  4. bdsullivan76
    Offline

    bdsullivan76 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am on a custom rom most of the time unless i want to receive an update. But this could be a serious issue for those that are in a situation and postponed the update for practical reasons. I love moto phones and the droid line but this is borderline crazy. We own the phone not Motorola.

    Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk
     
  5. robssm
    Offline

    robssm New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Uh, no can do with this last update. Its all hard locked, all system files, all user files, blur services do not turn off..

    Have a nice day! :)
     
  6. dlmalone81201
    Offline

    dlmalone81201 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Salida CO
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know I postponed it more than three times. First time it said three hours after that it postponed it for twelve hours at a time.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX using Tapatalk 2
     
  7. cobravnm13
    Online

    cobravnm13 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Alabama
    Ratings:
    +34
    Same with me on my D3. Starts at 1 hour, bumps to 2, then 6, then 12.

    Sent from my 3rd reincarnation of the ever-so-lovable Droid
     
  8. JeffDenver
    Offline

    JeffDenver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    I am so glad I left Moto... HTC is better in every way. The Droid 1 was the last good reason to buy a Moto phone.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. sfchris
    Offline

    sfchris New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does HTC have a slide out keyboard? No? Deal breaker for me.
     
  10. The Robot Cow
    Offline

    The Robot Cow Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +1
    I had a htc d.inc and I didn't like it at all. Aside from the awkward back design and sense, it wasn't for me.
    Now back to the original topic. There's gotta be someway around it. Maybe it can work by freezing/uninstalling something. Or you could just flash a custom rom, but then again not everyone want a rom.
     
  11. JeffDenver
    Offline

    JeffDenver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    I haven't needed a hardware keyboard since Froyo, even on the Droid 1. I never used the Droid 1's hardware keyboard after Froyo.
     
  12. Dave12308
    Offline

    Dave12308 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,253
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +50
    The OP is probably in reference to upcoming ICS ROMs. This is probably in response to Google's push to move all devices that are going to run ICS onto ICS. Google actually wanted all ICS devices on ICS months ago, but like all other things in cellphoneland, that turned out to be an overambitious goal.
     
Search tags for this page

how force update razr

,

how to force update on droid razr

,

moto otas

,

motorola razr i force update