Novice User Problems with selecting options after dialing a number

Claudette

Reaction score
I am new to the Bionic and smartphones in general. I have my second new Bionic in about 3 months and this second one does the same thing as the first. Please help!

The problem arises after I have dialed a number - my pharmacy, for instance. An automated system will tell me to press "one" if I want to refill a prescription. About 9 times out of 10 I cannot press that "one". I can tap it just as I would to dial a phone number and nothing will happen. It just doesn't register that I tapped the "one". Sometimes if I tap it harder and harder for two or three times it might eventually register the "one" and I can continue, but generally that doesn't happen. Sometimes, as soon as I start to press the "one" the screen will go black only to come right back on after I move my hand but the next attempt to press "one" and the screen will go black again.

I've sat on automated calls and gotten so frustrated I could begin to hate my phone but I never hear anyone complain of this problem, so I thought it might be me. It doesn't seem to happen if your option is a "two" or any other number, but sometimes you must enter a "one" to continue or even to verify the action you just took (the automated system may say "press one if your answer is correct", etc., and with two separate bionic phones, I find it impossible to respond with a "one", most of the time.

Any suggestions?

Droid Firefighter

Reaction score
Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
Current Phone Model
S8
Look around for the dtmf tone setting. Probably in the phone or dialer settings. Select long for the length of tone. That is the tone you hear while pressing each number. If it isn't set to long, the automated system can't "hear" it.