Novice Needs Help with Rooting Droid 2

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by SweetTea, Feb 21, 2011.

1. SweetTea

SweetTea New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Novice STILL Needs Help with Rooting Droid 1

I am a novice who has read lots and lots of sites & forums over 2 days trying to figure out how to root my Droid 2 to eventually turn it into a wifi hotspot. I have downloaded Astro & ApkInstaller onto my Droid & SuperOneClick & Z4Root.apk to my computer in various root attempts.

I think I should move forward with Z4Root but I cannot figure out how to transfer the apk file from my computer to my Droid. I have unmounted my Droid (although I couldn't do it through the notification downswipe process that most sites describe). However, a removable drive doesn't show up on my computer for me to copy the apk file to my Droid SD card. What am I missing? When I do the notification bar downswipe, I only see notifications. I don't see anything about USB or access.

I think after I move the apk file, I need to use ApkInstaller to find the newly moved Z4Root file, click on it and click install. I then open Z4Root app and click Root. To then get wifi, I need to open the Barnacle app and follow a few steps which I have.

Thank you for any help.

Last edited: Feb 22, 2011
  2. Abe21599

Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

Ratings:
    +30
  3. SweetTea

SweetTea New Member

Ratings:
    +0