Nougat just killed my WIFI

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Note 5' started by Rekreseb, Apr 21, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Rekreseb

    Rekreseb New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current Phone Model:
    samsung note 5
    I Have the old UDP and when my phone just upgraded to Nougat. Pooof no more wifi hotspot . I am a little torqued.
     
  2. Mustang02

    Mustang02 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7,625
    Likes Received:
    5,115
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6,073
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P/5X
    Wife hotspot is a new one.

    What does it do?
     
  3. Rekreseb

    Rekreseb New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current Phone Model:
    samsung note 5
    Just corrected my obvious typo. though I did use my wifi Hotspot for my wife's tablet when we travel.
     
  4. Mustang02

    Mustang02 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7,625
    Likes Received:
    5,115
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6,073
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P/5X
    What error are you seeing?
     
  5. Rekreseb

    Rekreseb New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current Phone Model:
    samsung note 5
    I was using PDAnet for wifi Hotspot. and now all i get told is that I nougat has blocked it. I am on Verizon.
     
  6. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7,293
    Likes Received:
    3,030
    Trophy Points:
    578
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +3,326
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Note 3
    I have to admit, that was a funny typo. I'm loving Nougat on my N5 although I do not use it as a hotspot/tethering. It's been so long since I had Verizon's upd plan but in order to use that plan as hotspot, didn't you have to either be rooted unless you paid the extra for it? Were you rooted before the update to Nougat? If so, that may be why using it as a hotspot no longer works?

    Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk
     
  7. Rekreseb

    Rekreseb New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current Phone Model:
    samsung note 5
    Planet was the only app that made it work without rooting.p d a net not planet....dang autocorrect
     
  8. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7,293
    Likes Received:
    3,030
    Trophy Points:
    578
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +3,326
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Note 3
    I'm betting that pda.net either does not support Nougat or it hasn't yet updated to support Nougat. Any program/app that bypasses the OS's design to make a function work has to find the loophole in each new OS to make it work again for that new OS. Check with pda.net's support to see what they have to say or if they have any solutions.

    Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk
     
  9. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7,293
    Likes Received:
    3,030
    Trophy Points:
    578
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +3,326
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Note 3
    This copied from pda.net on play store...
    "*Android 7.0 (Nougat) or later no longer allows WiFi mode even for Verizon phones. Please use USB mode or Bluetooth mode instead using our software."

    Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. cece5702

    cece5702 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    929
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
    Did anyone do a factory reset after nougat update?

    Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk
     
  11. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7,293
    Likes Received:
    3,030
    Trophy Points:
    578
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +3,326
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Note 3
    I did a factory reset before I did the nougat update. Always best to do with a major update. It has been working flawlessly; my time on battery has improved immensely (4-6 hours before update, 12 or more after update). I especially love that I don't have to go into settings to turn off overlays every time I want to change permissions on an app.

    Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk
     
  12. cece5702

    cece5702 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    929
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
    I didn't do it before so should I do it now? I just hate having to reinstall & put things back like I had it. Ugh!

    Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 1
Search tags for this page

pdanet nougat