notification tones

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Jburner, Nov 23, 2009.

  1. Jburner
    Offline

    Jburner New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello I have tried zedge and moblino or whatever its called but it keeps using the default on I had before I changed it. Tried to change in settings and also applying or settingg it in the Alps. Any suggestions. Thanks
  2. IamReady
    Offline

    IamReady New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kingsport, TN
    Your request is pretty vague. Can you specify what you are trying to do? You can specify different tones for each app. i.e. each contact can have their own ringtone, each email account can have a different notification tone, etc...

    You can even use your own tones if you like...
  3. Jburner
    Offline

    Jburner New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry, posted quick at work on my break. Anyways, I'm trying to set my notification for text messages to be a certain tone. But when I select to use it for notification it still uses the one I set when I first got my phone. Also trying to do the same thing for when I get a notification for facebook. Thanks for the help
  4. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you use Handcent? SMS notifications for that are set in Handcent's option menu, not the OS's. The Notification sound set in the Android settings is default for all notifications. If you want a specific say E-mail one..... go into G-mail or E-mail (whatever you use) and select Notification tone from the settings in that APP. Generally the apps work this way. Settings inside the APPs control those notifications.

    Hope that helps.
  5. Jburner
    Offline

    Jburner New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No im not sure handcent. I have save mss for messages.

    edit: do i need to have ,abilo running in background for them to work?
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2009
  6. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,784
    Likes Received:
    575
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Just download Handcent and change the settings in there. Make Handcent your default program to handle text messages.

    Go to the OS settings and turn off the notification for text messages and Handcent settings will take over. Otherwise you'll hear "droiiid" twice, lol.
  7. Jburner
    Offline

    Jburner New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks appreciate the help
  8. GohanBurner
    Offline

    GohanBurner New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Waukesha, WI
    I have no idea if this even relates to what you are trying to do, but in order to have your custom tones be listed on the selection you have to go into the SD card and place a folder into the dcim called "notifications". Same goes for custom ringtones, place a folder called ringtones in there and drop any and all tones you want into those folders and they will show up in the list.
  9. bass_lover1
    Offline

    bass_lover1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    From what I can tell, there is a general notification tone, that can be set in the main settings of the phone.

    This applies it to each and every application. For each app to have its own specific notification tone, you need to go into that specific app's settings menu, and change it there.
  10. spyder560
    Offline

    spyder560 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0

    You're definitely right, I was able to find the Notification setting for Messages...but how about the one for a New Voicemail? Where do you go to set that Notification sound?
Search tags for this page
account goodtones.com.cy
,

verizon notification tones

,
zedge notification tonesfor s4