1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Noticed something this evening..

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by BradDroid, Feb 14, 2010.

  1. BradDroid
    Offline

    BradDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Today I was in town and I was checking the dBm signal strength and noticed something strange.

    First off, its my understanding that the higer the number the better, ie; -68 > -100.

    So, in town I was getting a signal strength reading of -68 dBm and the status bar was showing full. Anyways, I have been having trouble with the bars reading at home. (see my previous thread) At home the reading is -101 to sometimes -104 but the bars show between 3 and 4 here at the house with little fluctuation.

    If any of you understand that reading I'd love a better explanation that what I found on google. Also, could you guys post your readings? I'm wondering if theres something near my house disrupting my signal, because I'm way too close to a tower to be getting these readings.

    Thanks.
  2. windstrings
    Offline

    windstrings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central Texas
    there is a cool app called "wifianalyzer"

    You can see all frequencies and tell where the strongest signals prevail in a localized area as well as what frequencies are open should you want to set up a new network.

    You can view graphs too... based on what that app shows.... anything in the -100db range is pretty weak. In fact -90 is pretty sucky.
  3. BradDroid
    Offline

    BradDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Interesting. Then why do my bars show 3 to full? Also, do these numbers reflect data speed or is only related to voice?
  4. Technoman
    Offline

    Technoman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas TX

    Remember, there is a sweet spot in the DB spectrum. You can get a signal that is too "HOT" and it will actually be just as bad as a weak signal.

    I am not sure for the 3G/Verizon world what the "sweet spot" is, but I am showing a -92 at my house. I have 3 bars (not full) and on occasion I do drop to 1x. I looked out to see if I could find the optimal db levels, but was not able to find anything. I would take a guess that it would be somewhere between -45 to -69 db. If you were to get "HOTTER" than -45 (say -25db) you would begin to see issues with noise. Noise gets amplified as the signal gets better, and gets induced as signal gets worse.
  5. hacku
    Offline

    hacku New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ.
    Actually the higher the number would be weaker signal. So -100dBm is weaker than -68dBm.
  6. lemodular
    Offline

    lemodular New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think the posters are referring to the "negative" values.
  7. Technoman
    Offline

    Technoman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas TX


    UMMMM... if you read my post you will discover that is exactly what I said.

    HOTTER signal is just that HOT = STRONG.... and DB needs to stay in the negative ranges to be usable. If you go into the positive range for db, it would not even be a usable signal.
  8. BradDroid
    Offline

    BradDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ahh...I do that on occasion. Not very often, but it does happen.

    Let me ask you.. when a call comes in and say your phone is reading 3 to 4 bars do they gray out (go completely away) when you answer?
  9. Technoman
    Offline

    Technoman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas TX

    I haven't really looked or noticed that. I really don't have any call related issues with my phone, only slow data issues when it drops down to 1x.
  10. BradDroid
    Offline

    BradDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just a quick update here....I spoke with a very helpful vzw customer service Rep a little bit ago and she had to manually reset the prl on my Droid. After we disconnected a *228 opt. 2 changed my prl to a vz based prl. I'm hoping this solves my reception issues at my house.
  11. windstrings
    Offline

    windstrings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Which vocodec are you running?
  12. windstrings
    Offline

    windstrings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central Texas

    Well there are two different icons.. one if for voice and it has vertical bars ||||

    While the wifi has a beam pattern of horizontal lines starting small and getting longer as they go out.

    When on wifi, I"m honestly not sure if voice is patched through that or not... I don't think so.

    But Wifi is in large your internet interactions and I don't think affect voice.

    In other words if you were in a "no call coverage" area but had good wifi from a house or store, I don't know if you you could make calls....

    I'm sure someone can pipe in that knows.

    But if your seeing readings -100 or so, as you can see from that app I mentioned, it goes off the scale at -100 "as in being too weak to bother with"
  13. BradDroid
    Offline

    BradDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just tried the ##program to change the vocodec but it asked for a spc password?

    Is the password unique to the prl?
    Is there another way to change the vocodec?
  14. Technoman
    Offline

    Technoman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas TX

    Brad,
    Did you keep the details on how to reset the prl? I think that would be good to post so that others can try it. I used to do a *228 whenever I was in a different area (even if they had good Verizon coverage). It supposedly allows the phone to find the towers.

    Anytime I try a *228 with my Droid it doesn't go through.
  15. BradDroid
    Offline

    BradDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah. You have to call Verizon and speak to a tech. They gave me some website to go to, but it wouldn't work. So they just sent an update. The phone flickered 1x service a few times and then about 5 minutes later I did a *228 opt. 2. and was good to go. the prl reset to 51739. Previous it was 65085 a former alltell prl.

    I went from -100- -104 at my house to -84- -90.
  16. Laurence5905
    Offline

    Laurence5905 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mableton, Georgia, USA
    Sitting here at my computer (at home) my phone is showing a Signal Strength that's fluctuating from -81 to -78 db, and the bars keep fluctuating from 1 to 3 (it will occasionally show 4 bars here at home, but not usually.)

    So honestly, I don't think signal strength has much to do with the number of bars showing -- the fluctuation of 3 or 4 db of signal strength isn't enough to lose an entire bar (to say nothing of two bars of fluctuation.) I think the bars may be showing something akin to signal quality rather than signal strength? Just a guess though...
  17. windstrings
    Offline

    windstrings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central Texas
    I just made a contact so i wouldn't forget..

    ##776426
    for password, put 6 zero's "000000" then hit "verify"

    go to 04 Vocode

    Try EVRC-B... that will be the cleanest unless your in a very remote area with towers that aren't modernized yet... I understand the coverage is almost complete for this vocodec, I"ve never had an issue yet here in Texas.

    13K is the old technology.... it will work on everything but won't have the boldness and the body... you will hear the difference...I least I can.