Nothing but problems...

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Tech Issues' started by blackandhotpink, Oct 30, 2010.

  1. blackandhotpink

    blackandhotpink New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I purchased the droid 2 about a month ago. I have had continuing problems since. My first droid 2 was replaced for a brand new one in the store. So, I wont bother mentioning prior issues. This phone is doing a few weird things:

    1. Notification bar indicates a new text message that isn't there. Meaning, I receive the sms message, read it (and reply) and the icon remains in the bar. I drag down to click the "unread" message and it disappears. (More recently, when trying to select a newly received sms from notification bar it will disappear from bar and not take me to the text.)

    2. Intermittently, when using my phone, it will black out and power off and restart. At one point it blacked out, shut down and wouldn't restart at all. Had to pull battery.

    3. Not connecting calls for numerous individuals. It will act as if it is connecting but is just dead air. I will have to hang up and redial numerous times before call is successful.

    Verizon representatives recommended I do a factory reset and not download anything for 3 days. I did the reset and all apps automatically installed. So, I removed all downloads which were not paid for. The problems are still occurring.

    If anyone has alternate suggestions or help, I would greatly appreciate it. I love the phone but hate the problems. Verizon seems to be clueless as how to help and tells me that I am the "first person to call with driod 2 problems." Psh.
     
  2. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    If after a factory reset and you don't have any apps other then your paid ones running and you still have issues, take it back and get another.

    Some people have bad luck. Most of us don't have issues like that at all.
     
  3. blackandhotpink

    blackandhotpink New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hookbill- I am on replacement 2 already. Similar issues happened on previous phone, minus screen blackouts, and some additional ones. The are sending me a 3rd "like new" device. However, my concern is that if these issues have happened on 2 separate phones, then it is quite possbile the 3rd will have the issue too.

    I'm trying to see if there is another possible solution/suggestion to these issues. I would prefer to keep one phone instead of changing them out.
     
  4. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    And my response to you is that you've had bad luck with the first two phones you got. After a Factory Data Reset there isn't much more you can do except try a third phone.

    Point here I'm trying to make is that your issue is unique and the vast majority of us aren't having an issue like yours. You've done everything you can do.

    I understand you don't want a third phone, but unless you are in your 30 day return period then I don't see any other recourse for you.

    And there's always that old expression about the third time is a charm.;) Hopefully that will work out for you.
     
  5. nightwo|f

    nightwo|f Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    yea I've been having problems with mine as well, I got mine three days ago and had to immediately exchange it after about an hour as the display would get totally garbled and could be reproduced fairly easily. So I got another new one out of a box (these are from BestBuy btw), and it seemed to be working great until today, though I didn't use it at all over the weekend (I killed it by messing up /system, fixed it via a .sbf though). Now this second unit is having problems intermittently with the display doing very similar things that my other device was, and I'm thinking they had a bad batch perhaps so I'm going to wait and get a replacement from another part of town or in a week or so. Issue seems to stem from having it plugged in, or at least seems to be easier to reproduce then.
     
  6. trook

    trook Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lake Elsinore Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've heard that alot of random reboot issues are caused by junk apps, or apps that are trying to access something there not supposed to. As for the message notifications, are you using the stock text messaging app?
     
Search tags for this page

android phone says i have a text but nothing is there

,
android problem with sms; shows new sms but nothing
,
i have a text message but nithing is their on androird
,
phone shows text but when i open it there is nothing there
,
showing 1 text message but nothing there