Note 1 in constant update

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by g3ride69, Dec 18, 2014.

  1. g3ride69

    g3ride69 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hello,
    I tried searching but couldn't find an answer in the thousands of questions of droid note 2 and note 3 posts....

    I have an original at&t samsung note 1 sgh-i717.

    Right when my 2 year contract was up... the phone locked (froze) on an update. after escalating with phone support I had to do a hard reset. I got my phone working. And restored from the cloud.

    But... ever since I have had a failed update running in the background.

    I have since switched service to straighttalk.

    1. It would be great to get all the current updates.

    2. Even if I don't get the updates... I want the failed one cleared out so I don't see it.

    Kies wasn't any help.

    Any help is appreciated.
    Randall Screenshot_2014-12-18-13-51-11.png Screenshot_2014-12-18-13-48-59.png Screenshot_2014-12-18-13-49-52.png
     
  2. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,468
    Likes Received:
    7,038
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,379
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    1. I changed the title of your thread to "Note 1" instead of "Droid 1" to attract the proper people to help with the issue.

    2. Since you've switched carriers, this will be a tough one. Carriers handle the updates for their versions of phones, but I'm not sure what'll happen here since you're not on AT&T's network anymore.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. g3ride69

    g3ride69 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    It is note 1...
    Does your screen show different?

    I had the issue before going to straighttalk.

    But I imagine your right. I was hoping for a trick or fix of some kind.

    Every time I turn on or unlock phone I get a "update cannot continue, try again later" notification.

    :/
     
  4. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,468
    Likes Received:
    7,038
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,379
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    I have a note 4.

    Have you tried downloading the update over wifi?
     
  5. g3ride69

    g3ride69 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes. And on kies.
    As you can see in the above picture it is ghost...
    I can't click on it or delete it or reset it.

    That's kind of what I'm looking for here.

    Thanks for looking.
    Randall
     
  6. g3ride69

    g3ride69 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Here is a longshot. If someone has an at&t note 1... would you please post a screenshot of your about device page?

    Again. All replies are appreciated.
    Randall
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,468
    Likes Received:
    7,038
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,379
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    If root is available for the device and the files are available, you could possible install it manually using ADB, but that's a very intensive process that takes a lot of knowledge and work to setup before you even get to the point of being able to install it.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. cr6

    cr6 Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    8,356
    Likes Received:
    5,878
    Trophy Points:
    1,778
    Location:
    NW Rocky Mtn region
    Ratings:
    +6,708
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy S7 Edge
    Twitter:
    @dronewolfmedia
    Welcome to the forum Randall!

    S5 tap'n
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. KaosMaster

    KaosMaster Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    164
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Garden Grove, CA.
    Ratings:
    +186
    Current Phone Model:
    SCH-I545 Galaxy S4 (Verizon)
    I would reset and initialize the device in Samsung kies. This will download and reinstall all the software and perform a factory reset. This should solve your issue
     
  10. KaosMaster

    KaosMaster Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    164
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Garden Grove, CA.
    Ratings:
    +186
    Current Phone Model:
    SCH-I545 Galaxy S4 (Verizon)
    Did you get the problem solved yet @g3ride69 ??