Not your typical 'how do I unbrick my phone' question...

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Froyo, Nov 5, 2010.

1. Froyo

Froyo Member

Ratings:
    +3
    I am on pure stock rooted FRG22D Moto Droid. I have always gotten sub par to par 3g speeds, and downright terrible speeds in my home. Everyone does though, which makes me think it's the design of the house.

Anyway, earlier this week for two or three days I was seeing the best 3g speeds I've ever gotten, even in my house. Then, after those two or three days, they just seemed to disappear. I tried all the basic stuff obviously...uninstalling apps, *228, fiddled with roaming, hard resets, factory resets, etc...nothing.

Then, something occured to me. I have been using some ad blocking app for rooted phones, that updated daily, and whenever it updated, it told me to reboot to flush my DNS cache. I'm not a programmer and never thought about how ad blockers work, but it seemed logical to me to assume that perhaps ad blockers work, at least in part, by screwing with my assigned DNS and giving me new ones in order to avoid the ads.

So when I got home, I tested by uninstalling the ad blocker. Still, all ads were blocked. Did a hard reset...still no ads. I have no ad blocker installed, cleared it's cache before deleting, deleted sub folders on SD card, and factory restored and wiped three times in SPRecovery...and I still have the ads blocked somehow.

Is this possibly why my 3g is all of a sudden exceptionally poor? I did notice my PRL number went from 40068 to 40069, if that's at all relevant. If my assumption is correct, how do I reverse these affects. If there's anyone who may actually have some insight into what is going on I would greatly appreciate your advice.

#1 Froyo, Nov 5, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2010
  2. djenks24

djenks24 Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Same Issue