Not sure whats going on...

Discussion in 'Droid X Roms' started by ftblryan, Dec 19, 2010.

  1. ftblryan

    ftblryan New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I rooted using z4 and everything seems to be fine, all of the root apps work and its asking me for superuser permissions for those apps. However rom manager to flash a rom (I'm still stock), I download the rom and chose to create a backup and wipe the data and hit ok. The phone then restarts and nothing has changed, my data is still there and there is nothing faster etc. about the phone. I also downloaded jrummy's overclocking app and it wont let me go above 1 ghz neither will setcpu. The max it says I can go is 1 ghz. I'm confused if I actually am rooted or if this is some weird hypbrid root haha. I have no idea but any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    To flash roms you'll need to pick up the droid x bootstrapper from the marketplace in order to gain access to custom recovery. And when using the overclock app are you using cpu scaling frequency or set scalling frequency. You need to use set scaling frequencies to actually overclock.

    tappin and a talkin
     
  3. chefb

    chefb Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Yeah....AND MAKE SURE YOU MAKE A BACK UP IN RECOVERY.! rom manager does not do it. All it does is reboots.
     
  4. JRobzilla

    JRobzilla Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also, with regards to the overclock app, if you flashed a new rom and the app restored via google or titback you may want to go under settings -> applications -> manage applications and find that app and do a clear data on it.

    That's assuming that even going to Set Scaling Frequencies brings up a partial menu that doesn't actually allow you to do anything. (I can only speak for JRummy's app on this).
     
  5. MrKleen

    MrKleen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +5
    Rom manager is of little to no use for the X.

    Like they said you need bootstrapper.