Not Sure what i did/didnt do right

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Jay5413, Feb 3, 2010.

  1. Jay5413
    Offline

    Jay5413 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey I'm looking for some help. I'm not sure what I did or didn't do right, well this is what I did

    I did the root and followed the steps of rootyoudroid,info
    I then wanted to do the 2.1 so I did the guide off here (2.1 the easy way)
    Then I overclocked it as well and got the SetCPU
    I didn't like it and didn't like the keyboard light not working and also how it was. Acting
    I then restored to the file I made before I upgraded to 2.1.
    So I could go to 2.0.1 so I could install bugless beauty I did the update.zip for it just like 2.1 then overclocked again now my phone acts like it is running 3 OS's if I turn the phone off then back on it does the "droid" and the "eye" 3 times and the rings won't change

    So my qustion is did I uninstall 2.1 wrong or should I have not overclocked it again any help would be grat thats
  2. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    The bootanimation really doesn't have anything to do with anything. But I know there has been a few problems with switching ROMs coming from 2.1 to 2.0.1 without formatting /system and /data first
  3. thebowers
    Offline

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    If you have your data backed up I would suggest a factory reset through nandroid. Then install the rom you would like to have. Restore your data and make sure everything is working well before overclocking again.
  4. pandroid
    Offline

    pandroid Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    interesting problem. theres really no wrong way to uninstall a rom on the count of you cant really, you just overwrite with a new one. but my solution

    system wipe
    reflash BBeauty. well i recommend BBeast, but its up to you

    be aware that you will lose all your apps/settings, basically have a brand new phone

    edit: what was said 2 times before me :)
  5. Jay5413
    Offline

    Jay5413 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    when I want from 2.1 to 2.0.1 I did the reset with nandroid before installing my old 2.0.1 file
  6. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    Whenever your in SPRecovery, like after you do the data reset, plug into your computer and open up ADB shell....whenever your on the main recovery screen just type this in the command prompt:

    adb shell
    format SYSTEM:
    format CACHE:
    exit

    then install the 2.0.1 ROM again
  7. Jay5413
    Offline

    Jay5413 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Reflash it again as in just reinstalling it? And when I switched to beauty I never lost any apps and that was my 1st time going to it but I never did half the steps I had to do for 2.1 for beauty
  8. Jay5413
    Offline

    Jay5413 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0


    So I type that where id do the wipe then. Right? What about doing a factory reset then starting all over again or will that really do me in
  9. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    I would type that in before the factory reset......
  10. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    type that in ADB, then a factory reset, then install your 2.0.1 ROM, then reboot

    that's what I'd do, hope that helps
  11. Jay5413
    Offline

    Jay5413 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what is ADB