Not happy with GPS service and other

Discussion in 'Samsung Fascinate' started by blacknight1, Nov 18, 2010.

  1. blacknight1

    blacknight1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I bought this phone thinking its backed by Verizon and the end all situation to a iPhone and bad at&t service. However I get lowsy signal in my house and I'm thinking its just the phone. I can't get the GPS to find me accurately even with VZW location services on. Its just one headache after another with 2.1 and no end in sight.

    Has anyone experienced a problem when typing where it freezes and you can type but only see it if you wait?

    Very unsatisfied and ready to take this back to Verizon and wait for the the nexus S dual core to come out. This phone can't even give me directions its rediculous!

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  2. Hymizzle

    Hymizzle Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im having excellent reception with my phone. Try updating your roaming capabilities. Download GPS Status and Tools from the market. Run the app with Maps and your location should be spot on. Until Froyo 2.2 and another mainentance update comes out this is the best way. Also look at Z4root from the market, its a one click step to rooting your phone.
     
  3. Scott1974

    Scott1974 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The GPS on the Fascinate is hit or miss at best. I was in Orlando this past week and was able to use it to get around and it worked great. It didn't lock on quickly, but once it did, it was just as reliable as a stand alone GPS unit. I'm hoping that once 2.2 is released (crossing my fingers that it happens sooner rather than later), that the GPS issue and reception issues will be resolved... along with freezing up at times, lagging between screens, etc.....
     
  4. blacknight1

    blacknight1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK all good points but who is to say that when froyo is released it will be any better than 2.1?

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  5. mcapozzi

    mcapozzi Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Liverpool, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Poor GPS performance

    There are two methods to at least try to fix the GPS performance on the Fascinate, first is fasterfix Fasterfix and the other is GPS Booster GPS Booster - Android app on AppBrain.

    I am using the JT1134 Clean ROM v0.4 on my Fascinate (which includes a GPS fix). The GPS now locks within seconds, when before it would take 5-10 minutes (not cool if you are lost).

    -Mike
     
  6. powell730

    powell730 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gps status was the fix for my gps problems. I was waiting ten minutes to get a lock until I downloaded gps status. I also get lousy reception wherever I'm at however, the call never seems to be choppy or broken. This fact that the signal was getting a bar or two used to bother me because I have ocd :) but I have since learned that it doesn't matter on this phone cuz I've never lost a call. Try gps status tho, I think you'll find that it will fix your main concern.

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  7. bL33d

    bL33d Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    illinois
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am useing the new dj05 leaked update which fixes a ton of issues includeing GPS lock which is instant now. and button backlights it also uses a updated baseband.

    my signal seems alittle better though it was never that bad IMO.
     
  8. powell730

    powell730 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you need to be rooted in order to install that update?

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  9. shdowman

    shdowman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you want it early, you'll have to dig for it (its still in testing) It'll be out in a few weeks though as an OTA.


    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  10. blacknight1

    blacknight1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I went in today to cancel and they decided to send me a network extender for free and I will switch phones if I get good service in the house. Otherwise I'm done with vzw

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  11. HolyGrail

    HolyGrail Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    A network extender might help you with reception, but it will not help with the GPS issue.
     
  12. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    Correct! Also doesn't support 3G (data), just 1X (voice and SMS). Are you running Bing or did you install Google Maps from the market?



    DroidForums junkie!