Not getting Maps 4.4 to install but Maps.apk isn't installed

Discussion in 'LithiumMod' started by phx726, Jul 26, 2010.

  1. phx726
    Offline

    phx726 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I searched through data/app and system/app and Maps.apk isn't installed anywhere. Is there another place google maps might be installed? I've checked doing a file listing on terminal and root explorer but I can't find it anywhere and I'm still getting an "Installation Unsuccessful." Any other reasons why it might not be working? com.google.android.apps.maps isn't anywhere in the file system as well. I've tried all the command line stuff too.
  2. foxdog
    Offline

    foxdog New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    that is strange, those are the only two places apps are, double check if its in the app drawer and if it is see if it will launch
  3. serveitup911
    Offline

    serveitup911 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    look in data/data and remove com.google.android.apps.maps
  4. phx726
    Offline

    phx726 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it's not in data/data and there isnt a Maps in the app drawer
  5. phx726
    Offline

    phx726 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i deleted the cache in recovery and maps installed! yay :D
  6. roreo
    Offline

    roreo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm having the same problem as you. I deleted the maps file from the data/data and also from system/app

    What cache are you talking about?
  7. phx726
    Offline

    phx726 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i booted up in clockwork recovery and wiped data/cache and cache partition
  8. roreo
    Offline

    roreo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok so i rebooted into recovery and did the wipe cache partition. the only wipe data/cache looked like the wipe data/factory reset. I didnt try it yet because that'll completely wipe everything right? Sorry I'm still learning when it comes to rooting.
  9. phx726
    Offline

    phx726 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yeah it would so don't do it unless you're ready to
  10. roreo
    Offline

    roreo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok thanks for the help. If it comes down to it i'll just do a full wipe.
  11. Serqet
    Offline

    Serqet New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    FL
    Running the Nex-Tang version here, and it updated fine yesterday for me; but it replaced the custom icon for the app with the default when it updated. This was annoying enough to me that I reverted.

    Is there a simple way to update the app and then change the icon back to the custom one?
  12. vitomins
    Offline

    vitomins New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Still no luck here...

    I also deleted Maps.apk everywhere on the phone and then wiped the cache in Recovery Mode, is my last resort to wipe the data?? I really do not want to do this, but I also really want Maps on my phone. :(
  13. Chief Wahoo
    Offline

    Chief Wahoo Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Central PA
    Vitomins, not sure if this will help, but I followed it and got Maps 4.3 (and 4.4) to install without issue. I am running BB 0.4, in case it matters. These instructions were found on DroidLife a while ago.

    To Allow Install of Maps follow these instructions:
    1. In Terminal Emulator:
    su
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 dev/block/mtdblock4 system
    busybox rm system/app/Maps.apk
    cd system/bin
    sh pm uninstall com.google.android.apps.maps
    cd ..
    cd ..
    mount -o ro,remount -t yaffs2 dev/block/mtdblock4 system
    sync

    2. You can now attempt to install the Google Maps update.
    3. If it fails the first time, just cancel the download and try again. If it fails again, reboot and try.
    4. Done!

    The thread over on Droidlife is from somewhere around June 22nd, if you want to see it / read it. Again, not sure that this is what will fix your issue, but it worked great for me.

    Hope it helps.
  14. vitomins
    Offline

    vitomins New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0


    Thanks for your suggestion!

    When I type: busybox rm system/app/Maps.apk

    It says: 'busybox: not found'
  15. Chief Wahoo
    Offline

    Chief Wahoo Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Central PA
    I believe the BB ROM installs busybox with it, but I also believe if you purchase Titanium Backup (the paid version) it needs Busybox to work and installs a version of busybox with it.

    What ROM are you running? Hopefully someone with more linux/tech skills is around and can help you with what you are encountering.

    EDIT: My mistake, didn't even notice the thread was for LithiumMod. . . sorry about the density of my skull
Search tags for this page

mapdroyd-downloads.html

,
tried to install google maps apk and says not installed