Not getting Handcent notifications

Discussion in 'Cyanogenmod' started by Durania, Oct 13, 2011.

  1. Durania
    Offline

    Durania Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Crossville, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone got a solution to this? Cm7.1
     
  2. baldybill
    Offline

    baldybill Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I too have experienced that. I went into the cm settings and am seeing if the led settings there will override and work.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  3. googlelover
    Offline

    googlelover Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well are you not getting notified there is a message at all? or are you just not getting the LED light? Because if your not getting notified at all handcent is getting kicked out of memory and can't send the notification. At least that was my problem with it.
     
  4. thejas
    Offline

    thejas Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    North East
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, I had the same issue. Try going into your Handcent notification settings and make the led speed slow instead of default. This was driving me nuts and it's how I solved it. I suspect others have this issue though I'm not sure why. I also have nothing set in cyanogens led settings. Hope this helps everyone!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  5. nightwo|f
    Offline

    nightwo|f Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have this problem after switching to CM7.1 (didn't restore /data except for a few apps individually with titaniumbackup). I set the led to different settings, made sure there were no overrides in CM Settings, but still don't get any audio notifications. The text alert appears in the bar up top and the phone vibrates, but no sound. Tried it with various vibrate and sound settings, doesn't seem to matter for whatever reason, still no audio ;\
     
  6. philc21
    Offline

    philc21 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm having the same issue... I was not getting the led notifications and fixed that with the CM led settings, but still having issues with notifications not coming through at all, and I'll find new messages once I open the app the next time and alot of duplicate messages. This is a BIG issue for me, and had the same problem with the latest simply stunning and came back to cm hoping this wasn't going to happen. Any suggestions? .... also have tried locking messaging app in memory and this didnt fix it.
     
  7. thebird36
    Offline

    thebird36 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +1
    i actually don't use handcent and i have the exact same issue with the stock messaging app
     
  8. sdstrothers
    Offline

    sdstrothers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  9. sdstrothers
    Offline

    sdstrothers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks very much!

    This worked for me! I have a SAMSUNG Infuse, and I really enjoy using handcent. I'm so glad that you posted this solution, and that I stumbled upon this thread!!!
     
  10. thejas
    Offline

    thejas Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    North East
    Ratings:
    +0
    Glad I could help. I'm just happy I was finally able to help someone out by a suggestion I made!
     
  11. lostoam311
    Offline

    lostoam311 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    okay, so I can't find the LED Slow option... there's just a checkmark option next to 'Blink LED'... I unchecked it, and checked it... neither one works...

    Here's my issue...

    Anyone use Handcent for their default texting app??! I've had mine for at least two years and never had an issue until now... I like using it because I can assign a different sound and background for each contact... Now I Do Not get a notification in the upper left bar when someone sends me a text message... I have to open the App to see if anyone has sent me a new message... it doesn't ring or vibrate... I have 'Enable Popups' checked in the Handcent Notification Settings menu... 'Screen on for Popup' is also checked... I'd really like to know when I receive texts, so can anyone help me out with troubleshooting... Thanks
     
  12. bfd740
    Offline

    bfd740 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm having the same problem with my D3 as of 2 or 3 days ago.
     
  13. GoCliffGo05
    Online

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,854
    Likes Received:
    334
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +334
    Tried clearing app cache or data?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
     
  14. bfd740
    Offline

    bfd740 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0


    Yes I did. I messed with the phone for 3 days. Turns out they released an update and ever since many people had this problem. Another update was released the other day which fixed the problem. Update Handcent and it should fix the problem.
     
Search tags for this page
handcent no notification sound
,
handcent no sound notification
,

handcent not notifying

,
handcent not showing notifications
,

handcent notification not working

,
handcent notification sound not working
,
handcent notifications
,

handcent notifications not working

,
handcent sound notification not working
,
not getting handcent notifications