Not Getting 4G?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by darkangel402, Mar 13, 2012.

  1. darkangel402
    Offline

    darkangel402 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    So I've had my Droid Razr Maxx for a few days now, not even a week yet, and everything's been fine till today. I haven't gotten my 4G internet at all today and I'm starting to get worried. I don't know if it's because I'm in my school building (it's not even a building, it's a lecture hall), but I've been having to use my school's wi-fi instead of Verizon's 4G. Anyone have any thoughts on it?
  2. cece5702
    Offline

    cece5702 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    908
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Are you able to get 3G at all or are you in a basement area where signal is very low? Also make sure in your settings, data is enabled.
  3. darkangel402
    Offline

    darkangel402 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    That's the thing, I don't even get 3G. No internet at all and nope, not in a basement. I'm out of the lecture hall now though and I'm getting it on and off. It'll be good for a few seconds and when I try to go on, let's say, the Facebook app, it goes away and doesn't load anything.
  4. DocsDad
    Offline

    DocsDad New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you re-booted the phone? Sometimes it kicks things back on.
  5. cece5702
    Offline

    cece5702 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    908
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Go into settings, data manager, data saver and make sure its not checked.
  6. ITguy4
    Offline

    ITguy4 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have had problems getting 4G and even 3G all day today in off and on phases (in the Pittsburgh, PA area). I checked here several times and didn't see any other comments about it so I thought maybe it was unique to me or the tower I am using. Haven't had any problems prior to today since the last update other than nationwide Verizon outages.
  7. darkangel402
    Offline

    darkangel402 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    How do I re-boot it? I know how to power off and on, but that's not rebooting, is it?

    Data saver isn't checked. I read on another post that Verizon is having a data outage or something? Could that be the problem?
  8. darkangel402
    Offline

    darkangel402 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Yeah, the same thing is happening to me and I'm in the Los Angeles, CA area. I'm guessing it's a data outage again? That's what I read in another post.
  9. DocsDad
    Offline

    DocsDad New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
  10. DocsDad
    Offline

    DocsDad New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
  11. cece5702
    Offline

    cece5702 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    908
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Yeah but you should have some kind of connection. If not 4G than at least 3G. Did you call Verizon? Power off and see what happens. Hold your Volume down button and power button at the same time. Your phone should power off. I thinks that how its done! So far I havent had to do a soft re-set. Let Verizon know whats going on though.
  12. darkangel402
    Offline

    darkangel402 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Okay, I rebooted it and I've got full bars 3G now. Thank you very much! Still wanna get my 4G back though, but I'll have to deal with Verizon for that, I'm guessing. Thank you, again!

    I just did the reboot and got my 3G back with full bars. I hope I get the 4G back soon and I'm definitely calling Verizon once I get a chance to do so. Thank you so much for the help~
  13. cece5702
    Offline

    cece5702 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    908
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Glad you're back in business!!!! :biggrin:
  14. dsw1519
    Offline

    dsw1519 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bucks Co,. PA
    cahnged to 3g and rebooted. Still nothing. I called VZ and they say "temporary outage".
  15. DocsDad
    Offline

    DocsDad New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Rock on :icon_ lala:
  16. dsw1519
    Offline

    dsw1519 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bucks Co,. PA
    Had to do a hard reset. Now I have to load my apps and change all the settings again. This sucks.
  17. fireman00
    Offline

    fireman00 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have a RAZR MAXX, today had a problem wtih 4G / 3G starting at about 08:20 ET this morning. Instead of going to 3G when I left a 4G area I got 4 white bars, no 1x, no 3g, no data connectivity. I called Verizon and was told there was a nationwide outage and a ?? number of 4G devices which were having issues reverting to 3G. They had me reboot, take out the SIM card, set to "CDMA only", etc with no luck. I had no data connectivity until about 13:00 ET I was back on 3G.
  18. cece5702
    Offline

    cece5702 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    908
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    What's going on with Verizon? The network?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX
  19. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,480
    Likes Received:
    673
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    As they call it... growing pains....your definition may vary

    sent from my RAZR MAXX
  20. PandaKey
    Offline

    PandaKey New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Lucky you. I talked to Tech Support and nothing they told me to do would work. I even updated the phone's system (I bought my Razr on eBay and got it yesterday, bought a SIM card today and had the people at the Family Wireless [a Verizon store] activate it). Tomorrow after work I'm going to the local flagship store (they have techs on-site) to have it checked out. I already contacted the eBay seller and he said he'd refund my money ($315) if the tech at the store says it's defective (which, right now and after the frustration, I'm kinda hoping it IS defective).
Search tags for this page
droid 4 not getting 4g
,
droid razr maxx no 4g
,

droid razr maxx not getting 4g

,
droid razr wont get 4g
,

how to get 4g on android

,

how to get 4g on droid razr

,

not getting 4g

,
not getting 4g on razr maxx
,
razr maxx not getting 4g
,

why am i not getting 4g

,

why am i not getting 4g service

,
why am i not on 4g.