Not capitalizing the "i" when texting

Discussion in 'Droid 4 Tech Support' started by cgilm2526, Feb 16, 2012.

  1. cgilm2526
    Offline

    cgilm2526 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is my first post so I hope I explain everything. I upgraded from the D1 to the D4 two days ago and noticed when I send a text, that the D4 doesnt capitalize the letter "i" when its by itself. I have to hit Shift to capitalize it. Is anyone else having this problem and is there a fix? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
  2. debdroid1a
    Offline

    debdroid1a New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was annoyed by that too so several of my posts here don't have that.

    I just checked because I also want it corrected.
    • Settings
    • Language & Keyboard
    • Built-in Keyboard
    • Auto-Replace -- check this it will correct mistyped words. Not sure how it works on other words, but does auto correct the I to capitalize it.
  3. LadyHottShott
    Offline

    LadyHottShott New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's werid, mine does, didn't have to do anything to it.
  4. NiteCloak
    Offline

    NiteCloak New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Thanks for that, I was having the same issue.

    I also wish (on the built in keyboard) that the Shift and CAPs lock button positions were reversed, and that hitting SHIFT+1 to get the exclamation mark wasn't a finger contortion feat of epic proportions.
  5. R2D|2OID
    Offline

    R2D|2OID New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I also have this problem. Auto-correct is not an option for me, I HATE it. Does anyone know how to get the automatic punctuation like "I", "I'm", "We'll", etc? This worked fine on my Droid 2 with auto-correct OFF.
  6. cgilm2526
    Offline

    cgilm2526 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You would think that it would correct itself without having to turn on the Auto-Correct. Not a really fan of Auto-correct so was hoping that there was a fix to the "i" problem without have to use the Auto-Correct option.
  7. reybie
    Offline

    reybie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It doesn't do that on mine. Suggestion: Add "I" in the user dictionary. See if it helps.
  8. cgilm2526
    Offline

    cgilm2526 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Adding it to the dictionary didnt help. UGH
  9. R2D|2OID
    Offline

    R2D|2OID New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    We shouldn't have to use the dictionary to do this.
  10. diablo85
    Offline

    diablo85 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you can press shift separately from 1. you dont have to hold down shift.
  11. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,352
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Do you have all of those selections on?

    Sent from the best 3G phone on Verizon.
  12. R2D|2OID
    Offline

    R2D|2OID New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    All are on other than the auto-replace. That option is not necessary to get the automatic capitalization and punctuation that we are looking for.
  13. debdroid1a
    Offline

    debdroid1a New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Auto-Replace is what I checked and my 'I' was capitalized after that.
  14. R2D|2OID
    Offline

    R2D|2OID New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Right, but on my Droid 2 auto-replace was not required to perform the punctuation / capitalization corrections. It is designed to not require auto-replace turned on.
  15. R2D|2OID
    Offline

    R2D|2OID New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The whole reason I have a physical keyboard is so that I never have to use auto-correct, auto-fill, or any automatic typing features.
Search tags for this page

android not capitalizing i

,
galaxy stopped capitalizing letter i
,
how do i get andriod keyboard to capitalize i?
,
how to set my android to auto capitalize i?
,
i wont automatically capitalize on samsung s3
,
samsung galaxy s3 doesnt capitalize my i
,
swype stopped capitalizing i
,

swype won't capitalize i

,
why is my texting not capitalizibg i
,
why when i am texting the i wont capitalize on it own