Not able to Mount USB anymore...

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by tanqueray, Mar 7, 2010.

  1. tanqueray

    tanqueray Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not sure where to post this issue but just recently I am not able to Mount my USB to my lap top anymore. When I plug it in, the phone doesn't even get a notification in the bar that I'm plugged in.

    Anybody have an idea of what might had happened?
     
  2. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    Something with the drivers on the PC. You probably need to reinstall those drivers.
     
  3. bastosero

    bastosero Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've been having this problem also. Motorola updated their drivers. The last one was 4.2.0. The current one now is 4.5.0. When I try to plug my Droid by USB it won't detect it either unless I have USB Debugging on. I tried to downgrade back to 4.2.0, but it still wouldn't detect it unless USB Debugging is on. That's the way I have it for now to charge by USB while plugged in my computer. By the way, I completely uninstalled both versions of the drivers and re-installed both to see if it was an installation error, but I guess not. Before the upgrade to 4.5.0, I never had this problem even though I'm rooted and using the current SG ROM. So if you want to charge by USB, just enable USB Debugging for now.
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2010
  4. jev

    jev Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Clemmons, NC
    Ratings:
    +1
    Same thing with me. But mine won't even charge with the dock or car unless usb debugging is checked. Glad to see I'm not the only one.
     
  5. bastosero

    bastosero Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Are you rooted also, bro?
     
  6. tanqueray

    tanqueray Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks guys, I tried uninstalling the drivers and reinstalling as well with no luck. But keeping the debugging mode on worked.
     
  7. jev

    jev Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Clemmons, NC
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yep, rooted with droidmod but also went back to stock and still had the same problem.
     
  8. scanduscolin

    scanduscolin New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    This actually happened to me as well, it happened when I installed chevy's 1.25 OC kernel, then I moved to AdamZ and it fixed it for me. Do you have any kernels installed?

    I'm running BB 1.2
     
  9. bastosero

    bastosero Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have Chevy's 1.25 kernel installed also and that's before the problem started for me so I don't know if that is the actual problem. I'll try to switch to a different kernel probably tomorrow and see if it changes.
     
  10. Martin030908

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm having the same issue. I can not mount my droid to pc. I was gonna revert to stock from droidmod but apparrently that won't fix it.
     
  11. bastosero

    bastosero Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    For now, just enable the Debugging mode on your Droid so you could charge through USB and be able to mount your SD card to your computer. We might need to contact Motorola about this problem since it all started for me when they updated the drivers from 4.2.0 to 4.5.0, but I don't know about you guys.
     
  12. Martin030908

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    My PC makes it's usual 'sound' when a usb device is connected, but never recognizes my Droid. It does recognize the device when debugging is enabled but I'm unable to view my SD card this way. When I click on it, in My Computer, it says to insert disk...

    EDIT: I'm leaving my comment above to show just how easy it is for someone, who might be very competent with the Droid, can easily overlook the simplest thing.

    To answer my own question above.... My Dumb Arse forgot to "Mount" my Droid to my PC after being recognized in debugging mode! HAHA at myself.
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2010
Search tags for this page

android 2.2 mount usb

,

android not mounting usb

,

android phone not mounting usb

,
android usb wont mount
,
droid dna usb mount
,
droid razr m mount usb disk greyed
,
droid razr m no longer mounts via usb
,
motorola droid not mounting on linux usb
,
mount droid dna usb
,
not able to mount my usb on my magnusa117 help